AUDIO

Sparrow

Dreamscape Media Aug. 2023. 17:47 hrs. ISBN 9781666645484. $17.99. F
COPY ISBN
Hynes’s (Kings of Infinite Space) latest takes listeners into a Roman village in Spain as the pagan gods and old ways give over to a new Christian order. The story follows an enslaved orphaned boy who grows up in a brothel, first in the kitchen, then in the tavern, and finally upstairs with the “wolves,” his surrogate mothers and sisters who have been enslaved alongside him. He is known by many names (Pusus, or “Little One”; Mouse; Jacob), but the name that resonates most with him is Sparrow, for as a metaphorical bird he can hover above the ugliness and protect his psyche from the horrors visited upon him. Narrator Theo Solomon’s smooth British accent adorns this story, adding a note of beauty that matches the grace of Hynes’s prose. He empathetically describes how Euterpe, a fellow wolf whom Sparrow considers his foster mother, tells stories to help the boy understand the world around him. These respites from their circumstances are enchantingly conveyed, with the characters’ range of emotions on full display.
VERDICT A story of pain, survival, and community set in a lyrically described, intricately built world. For readers of Jesmyn Ward’s Let Us Descend.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?