MYSTERY

Murder by Lamplight

Kensington Feb. 2024. 336p. ISBN 9781496746368. $27. M
COPY ISBN
DEBUT This atmospheric, strong debut features two intriguing lead characters. After medical school in Philadelphia, Dr. Julia Lewis is one of Britain’s first woman physicians. In 1866, that’s still so unusual that Scotland Yard Inspector Richard Tennant is appalled when Dr. Lewis, and not her grandfather, shows up to help at his crime scene. Although this is her first crime scene, Dr. Lewis capably handles the gruesome murder. It’s only the first of several, as a serial killer taunts Tennant with handwritten notes. Tennant, his team, and Dr. Lewis attempt to connect the victims through lifestyles and workhouses. As the working-class and poverty-stricken people of London suffer from cholera and typhus, and Dr. Lewis tries to help them, she gets closer and closer to a murderer who is watching. Although she doesn’t fit the killer’s M.O., a twisted mind can find its own pattern. While Scotland Yard looks in other directions, Julia’s guesses about a troubled childhood are the clues that ultimately lead to a surprising villain, one too close for comfort.
VERDICT Fans of Victorian mysteries, medical mysteries, and detective duos will appreciate this historical suspense. Suggest for fans of Andrea Penrose or Ritu Mukerji’s debut.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?