AUDIO

Mortal Follies

Books on Tape Jun. 2023. 11:50 hrs. ISBN 9780593743157. $85.50. LGBTQIA+ ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Nneka Okoye’s narration is one of the greatest delights of Hall’s (Paris Daillencourt Is About To Crumble) latest, a sparkling queer romance set in magic-laced 1814 England. Puck, known to listeners as the impish hobgoblin of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, narrates the story, tracing the burgeoning romance between the unfortunately cursed Miss Maelys Mitchelmore and Lady Georgianna Landrake, also known as the Duke of Annadale. A seemingly petty magical prank throws the two together, but what begins as a fluffy, magical comedy of manners soon veers into surprisingly dangerous waters. As Puck, the otherworldly observer—sarcastic, witty, and droll—Okoye will undoubtedly draw many laughs. Her animated delivery magnifies Hall’s clever writing, which bridges the gap between historical fantasy and romance. Though some listeners may struggle to keep up with Hall as he alternates between the two genres, they will likely be enchanted with Puck, who breaks the fourth wall and makes teasing asides about genre tropes.
VERDICT A charming magical adventure, perfect for fans of Gail Carriger’s “The Custard Protocol” series.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?