AUDIO

Medusa’s Sisters

Books on Tape Aug. 2023. 13:59 hrs. ISBN 9780593739167. $95. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
Bear debuts with an epic feminist retelling of the story of Medusa and her sisters. The mythical Gorgon sisters—Medusa, Stheno, and Euryale—were unique in their family, as they were always interested in the lives of humans. Wanting to learn more, the sisters go live among the humans, hoping to find a place in which they fit. However, their plan backfires, and the sisters find themselves amid a dangerous Olympian feud, learning too late that a god’s love can be violent. Following the murder of Medusa, Stheno and Euryale relate their story of sisterhood, vengeance, truth, and myth. Taylor Harvey and Zura Johnson provide a stunning narration of the Greek myths, highlighting the immortality and humanity of the sisters, their courage in confronting Olympus, and their desire for truth. Harvey’s and Johnson’s alternating narrations bring out the nuances of these largely forgotten figures, revealing them not as monsters but as complex individuals with hopes and dreams.
VERDICT An excellent addition to retellings of ancient myths and perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?