AUDIO

Lucky Dogs

Books on Tape Jun. 2023. 11:13 hrs. ISBN 9780593741849. $95. F
COPY ISBN
Inspired by Harvey Weinstein’s horrific treatment of Rose McGowan, Schulman (Come with Me) offers a story of betrayal and sexual abuse that is equal parts literary fiction, spy thriller, noir, and social commentary. TV star Meredith Montgomery is brutally assaulted by a movie producer who had his enablers deliver her to his hotel room, where they left her to her fate. Unmoored by the attack, she continues associating with the producer and stays in the media spotlight while succumbing to the pull of drugs and alcohol. When the producer’s eye falls on another star, Meredith flees to Paris, determined to write a book about her entire ordeal. The plot thickens when the producer hires Bosnian ex-Mossad agent Nina to trick Meredith into giving up the manuscript, in an attempt to lay waste to her reputation. Narrators Saskia Maarleveld and Carlotta Brentan beautifully capture this tragic story, alternating between Meredith’s and Nina’s points of view. Meredith is not always sympathetic, as her behavior and choices are frustratingly immature; even so, the glimpse into her shattered self is powerful.
VERDICT Though uncomfortable and disturbing, this account of one woman’s experience of sex abuse and its consequences makes an impact. Recommended for readers of Lisa Taddeo’s Animal or Jessica Knoll’s Luckiest Girl Alive.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?