ROMANCE

In the Case of Heartbreak

Kensington (Fern Falls, Bk. 2). Jul. 2023. 320p. ISBN 9781496738974. pap. $16.95. LGBTQIA+ ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Ben Parrish has always loved Adam Reed. Afraid of ruining their friendship, he’s never confessed his feelings to Adam. When Adam rejects Ben live on national TV, it stirs up past trauma, and Ben spirals into anxiety and depression. He escapes to his grandma’s beachside home for her 80th birthday extravaganza, hoping distance will heal his heartbreak. However, she’s invited Adam to be the fill-in guitarist for her birthday band and lodged him in the same space as Ben, forcing both men to confront their feelings for each other. Adam and Ben’s chemistry has been simmering for years; when it finally consumes them, the sex is steamy, and their love blossoms. This beautifully written novel is filled with authentic characters and heartbreaking, realistic scenes, but it is not all deep feelings. Humorous scenes abound, and the dialogue is as witty as it is revealing.
VERDICT Kae (In the Event of Love) gives readers a world where queerness is open and accepted, people support each other during mental health breakdowns, and true love comes with a side order of self-awareness. Fans of Casey McQuiston and Alexandria Bellefleur will fall in love with this small-town, friends-to-lovers romance.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?