ROMANCE

Every Duke Has His Day

St. Martin’s Griffin Sept. 2023. 320p. ISBN 9781250842541. pap. $18. HISTORICAL ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
The Duke of Woriton, Michael Bromley, knows it all when it comes to the science of chemistry. Romantic chemistry, on the other hand, is a mystery, as he prefers to spend his days with beakers rather than in ballrooms. When a dog-sitting snafu results in more of a meet-catastrophe than a meet-cute, Michael is thrust into the path of Elizabeth Dockering, society’s sought-after—and in his opinion, self-obsessed—diamond darling. Though the two are initially at odds, they must join forces when their prized poodles are stolen, and Michael finds that perhaps love is more like science than he thought, at least when it comes to opposites attracting. Enoch (Something in the Heir) presents a heartwarming and humorous historical romance. The likable lovers share more witticisms than wantonness on the page, and their playful partnership is endearing and engaging. The dual dog-napper narrative has its own tender twosome as well. Lush detail and delightful banter round out the reading experience.
VERDICT This book will appeal to readers seeking a fast-paced, flirtatious Regency romance full of crooks and canines. Recommended for fans of Virginia Heath, Martha Waters, and Maya Rodale.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?