MYSTERY

Death Comes to Marlow

Poisoned Pen (Marlow Murder Club, Bk. 2). Jun. 2023. 288p. ISBN 9781728250540. pap. $16.99. M
COPY ISBN
Thorogood’s sequel to The Marlow Murder Club has crossword-puzzle setter Judith and her friends Suzie and Becks enjoying a quiet summer in their English village. Judith receives a call from wealthy resident Sir Peter Bailey asking her to attend a party at his mansion the day before his wedding. She brings Suzie as her guest, and they run into Becks and her husband. During the party, a loud crash is heard from Sir Peter’s study, but when guests rush to the room, they find it locked. When the door is broken open, Judith and her friends see Sir Peter crushed under a large cabinet. The detective inspector sees it as an accidental death, but Judith and her friends are not convinced. Everyone connected to Sir Peter has something to hide: his son and daughter; his ex-wife; his fiancée; even his gardener. Throw in a missing will and the Marlow Murder Club members have a lot of legwork to do. But proving it was murder will take all their ingenuity.
VERDICT Thorogood gives the locked-room mystery a fun, modern twist that fleshes out the lives of its quirky protagonists; perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s “Thursday Murder Club” series.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?