ROMANCE

Between Us

Avon Aug. 2023. 384p. ISBN 9780063117990. pap. $18.99. CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Roisin and her five closest friends, including her boyfriend, Joe, are meeting for a weekend getaway to celebrate various milestones, including the premiere of screenwriter Joe’s new show. There is a fissure in the group when one friend leaves the vacation early after a fight and when Joe’s show, Hunter, broadcasts Roisin’s most closely guarded childhood trauma. After the show airs, Roisin questions if the main character’s infidelity means Joe has been unfaithful. She begins to feel betrayed and, after some reflection, also recognizes how hurtful and toxic Joe is towards her and others. While Roisin reflects on her relationship and carries out a minor investigation into Joe’s past, she enjoys some quality time with her good friend Matt. As she and Matt become closer, Roisin cannot ignore the intense feelings; then she learns that Matt has been keeping secrets of his own. When the truth is aired, Roisin must suss out whether Matt is just as hurtful as Joe.
VERDICT McFarlane’s (Mad About You) distinct voice, mixing comedy with deep topics of manipulation and trust, never disappoints and will have readers eager for the next page. Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Emily Henry.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?