AUDIO

At the End of Every Day

S. & S. Audio Jul. 2023. 9:42 hrs. ISBN 9781797159553. $19.99. HORROR
COPY ISBN
Delphi has worked her way up through the ranks of the Park, an otherwise unnamed California amusement park with an uncanny ability to transcend reality and transport guests into a fantasy world. Though no one seems to know how the park came to be, it has always held Delphi’s fascination, allowing her to escape her childhood trauma. Following a string of alarming occurrences centered around new, state-of-the-art animatronics, the park is shuttering its doors, and Delphi is tasked with assisting in the closure. She soon realizes, however, that something sinister—maybe even the park itself—is fighting against that fate. In this chilling debut, Reiche presents a sophisticated, suspenseful horror. The fast pace and intricate plot are compelling and creepy. Narrator Eunice Wong performs both Delphi’s first-person narrative and a series of epistolary interludes. Her sedate, almost detached delivery perfectly contrasts with the disturbing story, enhancing the unease and apprehension that runs throughout.
VERDICT This audio will appeal to listeners seeking atmospheric, unsettling horror that blends otherworldly chills with childhood nostalgia. Recommended for fans of Megan Collins, Kiersten White, and Jennifer McMahon.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?