ROMANCE

A Kiss in the Moonlight

Avon (Gambler’s Daughters, Bk. 1). Mar. 2023. 368p. ISBN 9780063241176. pap. $9.99. HISTORICAL ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
The three Lanscarr sisters hatch a plan to reclaim their fate after their father gambles away their fortune and disappears, and their boorish cousin subsequently tries to marry them off to the highest bidders. Using the gambling skills their father taught them, they turn their meager savings into sufficient funding for a London season, but money might not be enough to navigate the demands of high society. When two of the sisters fall for the same man, the stakes seem insurmountable, but when it’s revealed that he is investigating a treasonous embezzlement scheme, they realize they have wagered more than just their hearts. Maxwell (His Lessons on Love) begins her new “Gambler’s Daughters” series with an engaging tale of social climbing, scandal, and salvation. From the first frenzied dash through the forest, the fast-paced narrative pulls readers in, with lush detail and historic language enhancing the immersive atmosphere. Love scenes are scarce, but sensuous.
VERDICT Will appeal to readers seeking an enemies-to-lovers Regency romance with a dash of espionage. Recommended for fans of Sabrina Jeffries, Grace Burrowes, and Sophie Irwin.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?