Tor Nightfire

14 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Lute

Fans of gloomy British horror will adore Thorne’s novel, with its references to the Shining Ones and other fae creatures. Recommend to fans of Catriona Ward, Sarah Pinborough, and Kristin Cashore.
PREMIUM

Nightmare Fuel: The Science of Horror Films

Nesseth combines savvy science writing with a deep love of horror movies, resulting in something both scholarly and eminently readable. Even horror aficionados may stumble across an unfamiliar title she cites.
PREMIUM

What Moves the Dead

Retold Gothic classics and fungus-themed horror are both having a moment, and Kingfisher’s well-paced, immersive novella will satisfy those seeking read-alikes for Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic. Also suggest Moreno-Garcia and Orrin Grey’s excellent anthology Fungi and the nature field horror of Jeff VanderMeer.

PREMIUM

Screams from the Dark: 29 Tales of Monsters and the Monstrous

This epic volume, with its impressive table of contents, will satisfy the hordes of readers looking for new takes on the monster trope. It pairs nicely with the Bram Stoker–nominated collection Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities, and Other Horrors, edited by Doug Murano and Michael Bailey.
PREMIUM

Black Tide

Excellent writing, a consuming plot, and relatable characters make this an easy recommendation for library collection where sf/horror circulates well.
PREMIUM

Just Like Mother

An excellent suggestion for fans of cult stories or intense horror-thriller hybrids such as those by Sarah Pinborough.

Manhunt

This novel confidently plants a flag declaring its place among the greatest band-of-survivor zombie tales, right beside thought-provoking, action-packed classics such as The Rising, by Brian Keene, Zone One, by Colson Whitehead, and Mira Grant’s “Newsflesh” series.

PREMIUM

Dead Silence

The Titanic and Sixth Sense vibes will pique interest, but it’s the engaging, traumatized narrator Kovalik whom readers will root for, even when they don’t always trust her, and who will keep them turning the pages. For fans of both space horror like The Luminous Dead, by Caitlin Starling, or Hematophages, by Stephen Koziniewski, and ghost stories linked to family trauma like The Good House, by Tananarive Due.

PREMIUM

Sundial

On its own merits this would be an optional purchase, but since fans of the excellent Needless Street will drive demand, libraries should have it on the shelves.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?