Crooked Lane

57 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Standing Dead

Readers who have followed the story of Mattie’s family through Mizushima’s other “Timber Creek K-9” mysteries will enjoy this fast-paced, relentlessly tense installment.
PREMIUM

Tremors in the Blood: Murder, Obsession, and the Birth of the Lie Detector

True crime fans will likely want to read this book, especially those interested in the history of criminal science.

An American in Scotland

Connelly writes an atmospheric, character-driven debut that’s amusing at times, with a quirky, spirited cast. It has a strong sense of place that should appeal to fans of Carlene O’Connor’s Irish mysteries.
PREMIUM

A Wealth of Deception

Esden’s background in and extensive knowledge of antiques is evident in the follow-up to The Art of the Decoy. The complex story will appeal to fans of Jane K. Cleland’s “Josie Prescott Antiques” mysteries.
PREMIUM

Three Can Keep a Secret

Readers who enjoy the library and community connections in Victoria Gilbert’s “Blue Ridge Library” mysteries will want to try this mystery that hints at future answers to the ongoing story line of the murder of Greer’s husband.
PREMIUM

The Nightmare Man

Markert’s (Midnight at the Tuscany Hotel, published under the name James Markert) first horror novel is both a literary thrill ride and a supernaturally satisfying guilty pleasure.

Murder at an Irish Castle

There’s a strong sense of place in Brannigan’s debut, a well-written cozy mystery series launch. Will appeal to fans of Sheila Connolly and Carlene O’Connor.
PREMIUM

The Game Is a Footnote

This entertaining Sherlock Holmes pastiche (sequel to A Three Book Problem) will appeal to fans of quirky characters and bookstore settings.
PREMIUM

Corpses, Calypso, and Cooking

The first “Caribbean Kitchen Mystery,” Mango, Mambo, and Murder, won the 2022 Lefty Award for Best Humorous Mystery, but Reyes’s sequel is somewhat convoluted and ends abruptly. Add this title, with its varied cast and a great deal of Spanish dialogue, where the first was popular.

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?