Shames, Terry

8 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Murder at the Jubilee Rally

Suggest for fans of mysteries featuring small-town police forces, including novels by Claire Booth, Steven F. Havill, and Tricia Fields.
PREMIUM

A Risky Undertaking for Loretta Singletary

Shames's award-winning series (A Killing at Cotton Hill) will appeal to fans of Steven Havill and the late Bill Crider's "Dan Rhodes" mysteries.
PREMIUM

A Reckoning in the Back Country

Macavity Award-winning author Shames's ( A Killing at Cotton Hill ) riveting mystery is as issues-oriented as others in the series; the lawman protagonist is believable and realistic, and the strong sense of place should appeal to fans of Bill Crider's mysteries.
PREMIUM

An Unsettling Crime for Samuel Craddock: A Samuel Craddock Mystery Prequel

Made even more pressing in the wake of the Black Lives Matter movement and the current political climate, Shames presents an important exploration of the clash between personal conviction and cultural expectations, even when those assumptions are repugnant.
PREMIUM

The Necessary Murder of Nonie Blake

Jarrett Creek, TX, police chief Samuel Craddock is called to the Blake family ranch to investigate a murder...
PREMIUM

A Deadly Affair at Bobtail Ridge: A Samuel Craddock Mystery

Shames wonderfully evokes small-town Texas life and Samuel is a slow-talking but certainly not slow-witted hero squarely in the Walt Longmire vein. This emotional fourth installment (after Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek) from the Macavity Award winner will surely satisfy series fans.
PREMIUM

Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek: A Samuel Craddock Mystery

Shames is spot-on in her depiction of rural west Texas life in this well-plotted story (after A Killing at Cotton Hill and The Last Death of Jack Harbin) filled with extremely affable characters.
PREMIUM

The Last Death of Jack Harbin: A Samuel Craddock Mystery

Shames's sophomore series entry (after A Killing at Cotton Hill) highlights her comfortable storytelling style. The lead's folksy tone belies astute detecting, and the plotting will dazzle readers. Consider for fans of Margaret Maron, Steven Havill, and Bill Crider
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?