Marianne Fitzgerald

51 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Read-Alikes for ‘The House Across the Lake’ by Riley Sager | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The House Across the Lake

Casey as the unreliable narrator mixed with suspicious neighbors, supernatural undertones, and multiple blindsiding twists, means Sager (Survive the Night) has written another winner.
PREMIUM

How To Kill Your Best Friend

Elliott’s latest (after The Missing Years) is a great thriller with lots of red herrings and a blindsider of a twist ending.

PREMIUM

The Therapist

Paris’s fifth novel (after The Dilemma) is not on the same level as her great debut, Behind Closed Doors. Alice is overeager, insipid, and immature; she makes terrible decisions and flails willy-nilly throughout the story. Supporting characters are not fleshed out nor likable, making it hard to become invested. The big reveal is unconvincing, and the killer’s backstory isn’t particularly believable. Only for diehard Paris fans.
PREMIUM

Such a Quiet Place

Another successful mystery thriller from Miranda (The Last House Guest). The perfect suburban setting; the secretive, quirky neighbors; three unsolved murders; and an Agatha Christie vibe make this whodunit an excellent beach read.
PREMIUM

The Girl from Widow Hills

This is a great whodunit, done well. Olivia/Arden narrates but Miranda (The Last House Guest) creatively uses media transcripts, newspaper reports, book excerpts, and voicemails to piece together her fragmented story that ends with a chilling twist. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

The Dilemma

Paris’s latest is not her usual thriller fare. Fans excited to read the next edge-of-your-seat suspense, such as Paris’s The Breakdown will be disappointed with this sad family drama that combines frivolity and tragedy. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

Dead to Her

A mix of steamy sex, lies, secrets, betrayals, murder, and a dash of voodoo, Pinborough’s latest novel (after Cross Her Heart) will keep readers guessing until the very last chapter. A twisty thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, and Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train. [See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]

The Wife and the Widow

White exceeds readers’ expectations after his supersuccessful debut, with strong, complex protagonists in Abby and Kate and notable secondary characters who are well developed. The plot never stops and the clever twist is thrilling. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?