Mara Shatat

5 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Devil and Mrs. Davenport

Shirley Jackson fans will appreciate this novel with a distinct vintage vibe; readers of gothic and supernatural titles will be drawn in by the book’s feminist empowerment narrative.

The Last Heir to Blackwood Library

Fox excels at women’s fiction with a supernatural twist. This title has hues of gothic romance and horror, moving at a leisurely pace before exploding into furious action. Readers of Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic and Sarah Penner’s The Lost Apothecary will be swept up in the story and find much to like.

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau

This is historical science fiction at its best: a dreamy reimagining of a classic story with vivid descriptions of lush jungles and feminist themes. Some light romance threads through the heavier ethical questions concerning humanity. Readers of Isabel Cañas’s The Hacienda will be drawn in by the setting and themes; fans of other classic remixes, such as Megan Shepherd’s The Madman’s Daughter, will also enjoy.
PREMIUM

Seven-Year Witch

This cozy mystery has the right balance of suspense and quirky, small-town humor. The tone is always cute and lighthearted, and Josie’s magical connection to books is a refreshing spin on witchcraft. Recommended for fans of Lynn Cahoon and Esme Addison, and cozy mystery enthusiasts who like a little sprinkle of the paranormal.
PREMIUM

Temporary

At once hilarious, surreal, and serious, Leichter’s first novel reveals truths about capitalist society while exploring the meaning of doing one’s work well, despite how ridiculous or temporary it might be. This will be enjoyed by fans of Jen George and Helen Ellis.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?