Jane Jorgenson

137 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Murder in Westminster

Riley’s introduction to Lady Worthing is a bit overstuffed with plot and subplots, but fans of Regency-era historical mysteries featuring intelligent heroines (such as Andrea Penrose’s Lady Arianna or Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily) will find this series a welcome addition to the genre.

Nothing But the Truth

Could be the next The Devil Wears Prada.

A Conversation with Vanessa Riley | Talking with Authors

Sister Mother Warrior

Riley has written a well-researched gripping novel about an enslaved people gaining freedom, with the emotional connections among the main players as its beating heart.
PREMIUM

The Seamstress of New Orleans

Though seasoned readers may see the twists in this novel coming before the characters do, the author’s research into the first all-female krewe of Mardi Gras enriches the backdrop of this historical title and provides a glimpse into the suffrage movement from a different angle. For fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Fiona Davis.
PREMIUM

At Sea

Fedor’s moody debut explores the depths of love a person can feel and the toll that grief and mental illness might take on those emotions. For readers of Diane Chamberlain and Sally Hepworth.
PREMIUM

The Violin Conspiracy

This novel brings an unflinching eye to the sometimes-cutthroat world of classical music, its very white culture, and the challenges a talented young Black violinist might face in that world. But in Ray, a man who strives toward honor and kindness despite the racist acts (some of them violent) he endures, the story also finds its heart. Strongly recommended.
PREMIUM

A Lullaby for Witches

The premise and gothic undertones of this latest from Fox (The Orphan of Cemetery Hill) make this an engrossing, if somewhat unevenly plotted read.
PREMIUM

The After Party

Arthur develops each of her main characters so well that readers will root for them all.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?