Barbara Conaty

67 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Lost Souls of Leningrad

Like the novels of Helen Dunmore, David Benioff, and others, Parry’s work covers appalling agonies. There is an O. Henry quality in the revelation of an amazing connection among the characters. Readers of Ruta Sepetys’s Between Shades of Gray and Salt to the Sea will enjoy the action focused on the teenager.
PREMIUM

The Half Life of Valery K.

Scientific research, KGB shenanigans, queer love, and the heartache of suffering children are just a few of the enriching intricacies Pulley traces with intelligent wit and confident narration. A gifted writer of well-drawn characters, Pulley has given the nuclear noir genre a fresh and stimulating take on Chernobyl-style terror.
PREMIUM

The Berlin Exchange

Kanon baits the hook with an early murder and adds seduction and betrayal to bring about the grim conclusion. Fans of Alan Furst and John le Carré will include Kanon as the third member of a Cold War troika.

You Belong Here Now

This intricately plotted, deeply researched debut ranks among the best of the “Orphan Train”–themed novels and polishes the Western novel to a new radiance. Picture Charles Dickens on an Appaloosa for a fusion of two classic genres.

PREMIUM

The Last Grand Duchess: A Novel of Olga Romanov, Imperial Russia, and Revolution

Compared to the huge trove of books about the Romanovs and their pretenders, Turnbull’s novel is an entrancing tribute to a Victorian lass of tragic grace.
PREMIUM

Our American Friend

Viewers who followed the TV series The Americans will recognize and enjoy its thrilling hallmarks in this exciting novel about the erstwhile first couple.
PREMIUM

A Most Clever Girl

The smashing plot piledriver is the confrontation between Elizabeth and Catherine, a vengeful young orphan whose mother’s death may have been caused by Elizabeth’s espionage. The wily Elizabeth snatches center stage and propels readers through the Red Scare and the opening years of the Cold War. Even though fictional, Thornton’s interpretation rings true and tragic.

PREMIUM

You Can Run

Cleveland weaves technology, motherhood, and spydom’s skullduggery into a taut, alluring web. Acclaimed for fiendishly clever plotting, she whips up the story to a breakneck pace, then rewards readers with a knockout ending. Fans of Stella Rimington’s series about MI5 agent Liz Carlyle will thrill to the steely grit and brave hearts of Jill and Alex.
PREMIUM

Last Flight to Stalingrad

Hurley is a welcome addition to the ranks of such writers as Alan Furst, Philip Kerr, and Rick Atkinson.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?