Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

Affective Memories: How Chance and the Theatre Saved My Life

Luckinbill fills his autobiography with many intriguing stories about life in the theater and film industries.

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Thunder Song: Essays

A captivating collection of essays highlighting LaPointe’s unique experiences and inheritances as a modern Coast Salish woman. Strongly recommended for fans of Red Paint and similar memoirs; essential for Pacific Northwest library collections.

Display Shelf | Memoirs

1974: A Personal History

A moving tale, from an expert storyteller, about growing up.

Playing for Freedom: The Journey of a Young Afghan Girl

A must-have for any collection, especially in school and academic libraries. This memoir celebrates the power of one young woman to make a difference by speaking up and daring to be herself.
PREMIUM

The Book That (Almost) Got Me Fired: How I (Barely) Survived a Year in Corporate America

James’s reflection on returning to the office in her fifties captures the dysfunction of the pre-pandemic corporate world.

Nephew: A Memoir in 4-Part Harmony

This poignant memoir about overcoming devastating odds is a treasure and likely to become a classic. Essential reading for deepening understanding of society, the world, familial relationships, and the meaning of art and life.
PREMIUM

One Step Sideways, Three Steps Forward: One Woman’s Path to Becoming a Biologist

The incredible not-to-miss story of an evolutionary scientist who combined her passion for science with her love and devotion to her family, the environment, and many social causes.

The Night Parade: A Speculative Memoir

An excellent production, combining surrealism and fantasy with the relatable hardships of life. Humorous, heartbreaking, and determinedly honest, this unique memoir offers an unforgettable listening experience.

Grief Is for People: A Memoir

An unflinching and deeply absorbing memoir of grief and loss, expertly narrated by the author.
PREMIUM

Whiskey Tender: A Memoir

A must-listen for those seeking a nuanced discussion of the difficulty of balancing the complexities of assimilation with a desire to remain connected to one’s culture and history. Audiences who enjoyed Tommy Orange’s There There or Terese Marie Mailhot’s Heart Berries should take note.
PREMIUM

What a Fool Believes: A Memoir

An engaging story that readers of music bios will enjoy. McDonald’s musical journey as a backing singer, a side musician, and a front man is fascinating because it is different from that of many other pop/rock stars.
PREMIUM

I Shouldn’t Be Telling You This: (But I’m Going To Anyway)

Energetic and revealing, this title will surely please Devantez’s listeners and fans. Aficionados of tragicomic, gossip-tinged memoirs will like it too.

Rebel Girl: My Life as a Feminist Punk

A vivid, funny, and powerful memoir that will appeal to rock lovers and music historians.

Joyful Recollections of Trauma

Scheer’s memoir addresses somber truths of adolescence and abuse while never losing a sense of hope and humor along the way. Recommend this beautiful book to fans of Sam Neill, Casey Wilson, and Samantha Irby.

I Can’t Remember If I Cried: Rock Widows on Life, Love and Legacy

A wide range of readers and book clubs will appreciate this moving, healing, and absorbing memoir/music history.
PREMIUM

The World Got Away: A Memoir

A detailed account of Rouse’s work that’s also part memoir. The latter is presented nonchronologically, which may be too difficult for some readers to easily follow.
PREMIUM

Bits and Pieces: My Mother, My Brother, and Me

Told mostly in chronological order, this breezy and moving memoir portrays a close-knit family that includes a daughter who is also a celebrity. A fine addition to biography collections.
PREMIUM

Seeing Through: A Chronicle of Sex, Drugs, and Opera

A unique and detailed self-portrait that will prompt readers to seek recordings of Gordon’s innovative works. The discography and lists of compositions and publications are thorough and helpful.
PREMIUM

Home and Alone

Stern’s life, from a dyslexic child to a successful movie actor, is fascinating. Mixing behind-the-scenes insights from iconic movies with witty accounts of interactions with Hollywood A-listers creates a top-notch celebrity memoir.
PREMIUM

Blue Remembered Hills

The antithesis of so-called “misery lit,” this charming recollection captures the origins of a novelist who engaged her disability on her own terms and translated her experiences into captivating narratives that continue to inspire countless young readers to this day.
PREMIUM

Down with the System: A Memoir (of Sorts)

Fans of the latter-era metal scene will gain a lot from this music memoir. It’s also ideal for readers involved in political and social activism.
PREMIUM

You Never Know: A Memoir

The lack of juicy personal information may disappoint celebrity gossip mavens, but Selleck’s earnestness and self-deprecating folksy style will satisfy celebrity watchers, especially Magnum, P.I. and Blue Bloods fans.

Nonfiction Finale | Prepub Alert, October 2024 Titles

Animals I Want To See: A Memoir of Growing Up in the Projects and Defying the Odds

This powerful memoir is ultimately about keeping a family together as things begin to fall apart. It’s consistently vivid, sometimes humorous, and engaging from start to finish.

Musical Memoirs | Performing Arts

Essays | Prepub Alert, October 2024 Titles

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, October 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

My Mama, Cass: A Memoir

A unique perspective from the daughter of a rock star. General audiences will get a fresh glimpse into the manipulative music business, which demanded ceaseless hard work, personal sacrifices, and a determined focus on glittery celebrity.
PREMIUM

The Last Fire Season: A Personal and Pyronatural History

Martin’s memoir about living through and emerging from devastation, together with her reflections on history and climate change make for a rich and timely listen.
PREMIUM

Slow Noodles: A Cambodian Memoir of Love, Loss, and Family Recipes

A gracefully told portrait of resilience, enhanced with recipes that are both mouthwatering and evocative.
PREMIUM

I Cannot Control Everything Forever: A Memoir of Motherhood, Science, and Art

This memoir’s intellectual, grounded tone enables readers to go along with the author as she explores the joy and despondency that coexist within modern parenting, plus the sheer exhaustion and helplessness of advocating for someone (in this case, one’s child) who can’t yet advocate for themselves. A perfect fit for fans of Dani Shapiro’s work.
PREMIUM

Woman of Interest: A Memoir

Suggested for readers who enjoy poetic memoirs, such as Lindsey Frazier’s Oh Love, Come Close and Jane Wong’s Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City.

But You Look So Normal: Lost and Found in a Hearing World

A fascinating, beautifully written memoir about a woman determined to carve out a fulfilling life for herself.
PREMIUM

Endless Fall: A Little Chronicle

This discourse on death, suicide, queerness, youth, and small-town bigotry is a recommended title, but it’s best for readers comfortable with academic works.
PREMIUM

Under a Rock: A Memoir

Written in an off-the-cuff style, this memoir offers a descriptive, highly impressionistic account of the author’s role in Blondie and his life in New York City. Will engage general readers.

Desperately Seeking Something: A Memoir About Movies, Mothers, and Material Girls

A quick and easy read about the life and career of a trailblazing filmmaker. Will appeal to many audiences, including those unfamiliar with Seidelman’s career. Fans of Jay and Mark Duplass’s Like Brothers, Tim Murphy’s Christodora, or Alice Bag’s Violence Girl will especially enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Friday Afternoon Club: A Family Memoir

Raw and painful to read at times but compelling in its honesty, this memoir about the Dunnes will appeal to movie and true-crime fans.

Slow Noodles: A Cambodian Memoir of Love, Loss, and Family Recipes

A stunning memoir, spiced with delectable and occasionally devastating recipes. This is unmissable.
PREMIUM

Water on Fire: A Memoir of War

An important, stirring memoir that effectively documents how the Lebanese Civil War impacted a child who grew up there during that time.

Display Shelf | Food Memoirs

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, September 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Traces of Madness: A Graphic Memoir

A debut graphic memoir that was originally published in Spain and won the Popular Prize award at the Salón del Cómic in Barcelona, this moving and devastating portrait of a little-understood condition will fascinate and educate readers.
PREMIUM

If You Can’t Take the Heat: Tales of Food, Feminism, and Fury

A wry look at feminism via food. Recommended for general readers.
PREMIUM

Class: A Memoir of Motherhood, Hunger, and Higher Education

This deeply touching memoir sheds light on the seemingly insurmountable challenges encountered by impoverished people seeking better lives for themselves and their families. Fans of Maid and the Netflix series inspired by the book will want to listen to this.
PREMIUM

Karma: My Autobiography

The lackluster narration and sparse insights make this audio a necessary purchase only for dedicated fans.
PREMIUM

I Quit Everything: How One Woman’s Addiction to Quitting Helped Her Confront Bad Habits and Embrace Midlife

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a candid autobiographical analysis of the ease with which one becomes addicted to both substances and behaviors. Recommended for fans of Sarah Levy and Holly Whitaker.

The Upcycled Self: A Memoir on the Art of Becoming Who We Are

A portrait of an artist’s evolution that should resonate with hip-hop lovers and Roots fans alike. It’s short and will leave listeners wanting more.

American Shield: The Immigrant Sergeant Who Defended Democracy

While there are other USCP accounts of the insurrection, this one stands apart, given Gonell’s immigrant beginnings and patriotic pride in his adopted country.

Better Living Through Birding: Notes from a Black Man in the Natural World

This brilliant multidimensional nonfiction debut by Cooper, now the host of National Geographic’s Extraordinary Birder, should be cherished by all memoir fans and will strike a chord with his fellow sci-fi and comics fans.
PREMIUM

If You Would Have Told Me: A Memoir

Stamos shares the shiny and not-so-shiny memories of his past, reflecting on the importance of experiencing the good times and the bad. An excellent choice for those who enjoy memoirs and pop culture or are avid John Stamos fans.
PREMIUM

My Vietnam, Your Vietnam: A Father Flees, a Daughter Returns; A Dual Memoir

A father-daughter memoir that highlights the complex nature of memory and perspective. Recommended for readers interested in personal narratives of connection.
PREMIUM

Dancing on the Edge: A Journey of Living, Loving, and Tumbling Through Hollywood

With his role in the Twin Peaks reboot and his numerous dance numbers finding new life online, Tamblyn, his engaging memoir, and his stories will be of high interest.

Behind the Seams: My Life in Rhinestones

Part memoir, part fashion manifesto, part archive, this engaging audio bursts with humor, confidence, and candor. The production deserves all the rhinestone stars it will earn.
PREMIUM

Omega Farm: A Memoir

For those ready to reflect on the pandemic and not opposed to a jumping timeline, this deeply personal story resonates.
PREMIUM

Doppelganger: A Trip into the Mirror World

Listeners interested in politics or social media should appreciate Klein’s nuanced look at how people of all political ideologies can follow the online trail of alternative facts into the Mirror World.

The Jolliest Bunch: Unhinged Holiday Stories

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a collection of funny, festive family stories full of 1990s nostalgia and heartwarming holiday hijinks. Recommended for fans of arts and entertainment autobiographers, such as Leslie Jordan and Randy Rainbow.

Great Falls, MT: Fast Times, Post-Punk Weirdos, and a Tale of Coming Home Again

Part memoir, part performance, part comedy riff, this vibrant audiobook is not to be missed.

In the Form of a Question: The Joys and Rewards of a Curious Life

Schneider is not only curious; she is also interesting. Fans of her meteoric run on Jeopardy will enjoy this debut memoir, which provides food for thought for anyone curious about all the trivia of life.

The Woman in Me

Though Spears’s words are affecting on their own, narrator Williams’s gentle Southern drawl and slight vocal fry make this gripping memoir an unputdownable must-listen.
PREMIUM

Making It So: A Memoir

Recommended for fans of Carrie Fisher’s memoirs or Dave Grohl’s The Storyteller.
PREMIUM

More: A Memoir of Open Marriage

Winter’s conversational tone allows listeners to empathize with her as she stumbles through her marriage’s new dynamic and develops self-care techniques. Give to listeners who are curious about ethical non-monogamy as well as listeners who enjoy candid memoirs.
PREMIUM

Unhappy Achiever: Rejecting the Good Girl Image and Reclaiming the Joy of Inner Fulfillment

Readers will gravitate toward this book, which emphasizes that people shouldn’t be judged by a list of achievements. Perfect for fans of Elise Loehnen’s On Our Best Behavior or Katherine Morgan Schafler’s The Perfectionist’s Guide to Losing Control.
PREMIUM

Arctic Traverse: Thousand-Mile Summer of Trekking the Brooks Range

This book gorgeously documents the author’s journey through a wild landscape. For readers of travel memoirs and outdoor adventures.

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Here After: A Memoir

A poignant book. The author explores grief in its unshakable, impossibly enduring rawness.

I’ll Just Be Five More Minutes: And Other Tales from My ADHD Brain

A must for collections.
PREMIUM

Boxing the Compass: A Life of Seafaring, Music, and Pilgrimage

This title clearly showcases a life lived on the author’s own terms.

Polar Vortex: A Family Memoir

Dorrance’s (It’s All About Mimi) gorgeous, plaintive story speaks to those caring for aging parents and realizing they must eventually prepare for their own exits. A lyrical read-alike for Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast.

PREMIUM

Inconceivable: Super Sperm Donors, Off-the-Grid Insemination, and Unconventional Family Planning

This book reveals a little-known aspect of one route to becoming a parent. For health sciences consumer health collections.
PREMIUM

They Called Us Exceptional: And Other Lies That Raised Us

This candid and compassionate account reveals the cost of impossible expectations and the courage necessary to find oneself. For fans of Qian Julie Wang’s Beautiful Country or Safiya Sinclair’s How To Say Babylon.

Bones Worth Breaking: A Memoir

This memoir is a poignant portrait of the love between two brothers and a shared life, with descriptions of traumatic experiences and the resulting scars. The relevance of the book’s themes and topics, alongside Martinez’s openness and exceptional writing skill, will undoubtedly connect with many readers.

The Wives: A Memoir

A fearless, engaging, and important memoir about how one person’s decision to serve in the military affects their entire family. Readers will learn the true meaning of military service through the wider lens of its impact on families and communities.
PREMIUM

The Sky Was Falling: A Young Surgeon’s Story of Bravery, Survival, and Hope

A recommended purchase. This debut author’s writing style and fast-paced story will appeal to readers interested in a behind-the-scenes look at hospital operations and personnel during the COVID pandemic.
PREMIUM

Broken: Transforming Child Protective Services—Notes of a Former Caseworker

Parents and child-welfare professionals will benefit from this excellent work that gives an insider’s view of child protective services. Pair with We Were Once a Family by Roxanna Asgarian.
PREMIUM

The Translator’s Daughter: A Memoir

A compelling and poignant story that sheds light on Taiwanese culture and recent history. Essential for readers interested in Taiwan in specific or immigration memoirs in general. Will also appeal to fans of Two Trees Make a Forest by Jessica J. Lee.

Motherland: A Memoir

This expressively narrated account of a country in crisis balances detailed research and political insight with snippets of daily life. A must-listen that pairs well with Raúl Gallegos’s Crude Nation and Rory Carroll’s Comandante.

My Name Is Barbra

A spectacular and heartfelt memoir, written with invigorating passion and read with endearing humor.

Talking to My Angels

Longtime Etheridge fans and those new to her work will be blown away by her music and grace-filled, courageous personal narrative.

Some People Need Killing: A Memoir of Murder in My Country

A brave and heartbreaking work that fleshes out the human cost of Duterte’s violent rule.

The Notebooks of Sonny Rollins

Illuminating diary entries by a jazz legend; highly recommended reading for fans, musicians, and general audiences.
PREMIUM

Tuned In: Memoirs of a Piano Man

This vicarious adventure and engaging memoir teaches that learning a marketable trade, in this case piano tuning, can be a useful underpinning for seeking goals that seem out of reach. Includes insightful anecdotes about music stars.
PREMIUM

The Unit: My Life Fighting Terrorists as One of America’s Most Secret Military Operatives

A quick, thought-provoking read that lays out both strengths and flaws of the U.S. military in equal measure. Fans of modern military history will find this title enjoyable.
PREMIUM

Portrait of a Body

Moody, elegant, slow, and serious, Delporte’s self-portrait feels defined in great part by its beautiful, formidable frame.
PREMIUM

Dancing the Afrofuture: Hula, Hip-Hop, and the Dunham Legacy

Part self-reflection and part love song to Dunham, this book is a triumphant look at a dancer’s second act as a scholar.
PREMIUM

I Saw Them Standing There: Adventures of an Original Fan During Beatlemania and Beyond

A fun and intimate way to experience the height of Beatlemania.
PREMIUM

Hits, Flops, and Other Illusions: My Fortysomething Years in Hollywood

A frank, entertaining insider look at the film industry from the perspective of an Oscar- and Emmy-winning director.
PREMIUM

My Effin’ Life

Lee makes a true personal connection with readers in this compulsively readable memoir.

Being Henry: The Fonz…and Beyond

An engaging and endearing memoir by a genuine Hollywood treasure whose work spans generations.

Life on Other Planets: A Memoir of Finding My Place in the Universe

This lyrical, beautifully performed memoir from a Black woman scientist should inspire listeners to look to the sky and also recommend this outstanding title to young women they know who are interested in STEM fields.
PREMIUM

The Witching Year: A Memoir of Earnest Fumbling Through Modern Witchcraft

A sincere and unaffected memoir that should appeal to listeners interested in Wiccan beliefs and personal growth stories.

Land of My Sojourn: The Landscape of a Faith Lost and Found

Essential reading for Christians who have lost hope.
PREMIUM

Finding a Likeness: How I Got Somewhat Better at Art

A fun chronicle of a writer’s attempt to get better at visual art, which will likely inspire readers to give it a go as well.
PREMIUM

What Have We Here?: Portraits of a Life

A juicy memoir from a legendary actor. Celebrity watchers will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Secrets of the Sun: A Memoir

Moving and beautifully written. This poignant memoir is about a daughter’s hunt for answers and understanding about her father, his battles, and the complexities of their relationship.

Dear Sister: A Memoir of Secrets, Survival, and Unbreakable Bonds

An essential purchase. Through countless extensions of jail time without a bail hearing, changes in attorneys, depositions, and heartbreaking jail visits, this strong narrative points to the realities of the United States’ criminal justice system and how it can fail the most vulnerable.
PREMIUM

My Side of the River: A Memoir

Perfect for readers who want to learn more about how the U.S immigration system affects the families its laws separate. Also a great pick for fans of memoirs about people who overcome the odds against them.
PREMIUM

Dear Mom and Dad: A Letter About Family, Memory, and the America We Once Knew

This book about Davis’s relationship with her parents, Ronald and Nancy Reagan, unpacks a lot. Her eloquent writing and reassessment of her family bonds will keep readers intrigued.

Collection Development | Memoirs

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?