Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

AP: “Zelenskyy Quip, Trump Conspiracy Top 2022 Notable Quote List”

Indiana Sues TikTok for ‘Misleading’ Consumers on Data Protections, Mature Content; European Book Publishing Statistics 2021; & More News Headlines

Indiana Sues TikTok for ‘Misleading’ Consumers on Data Protections, Mature Content; European Book Publishing Statistics 2021; & More News Headlines

Secret Perfume of Birds, Forgotten Botanist, Botany in China, How Birds Evolve, and More in Botany and Zoology | Academic Best Sellers

CrimeReads Releases List of 2022’s Best Crime Novels | Book Pulse

Access from All Angles: Charleston Conference 2022

New Online: Another Round of Digital Jigsaw Puzzles Available From the Smithsonian Libraries and Archives (Holiday 2022 Edition)

Funders Support Use of Reviewed Preprints in Research Assessment, Supporting Organizations Include cOAlition S, HHMI, Gates Foundation, RLUK, and Wellcome

The Software Preservation Network Publishes 2nd Edition of A Preservationist’s Guide to the DMCA Exemption For Software Preservation

arXiv Welcomes Stephanie Orphan as Program Director; Springer Nature Acquires Silicon Valley-Based Cureus Journal of Medical Science; and More News Headlines

Black History Month: 10 Books To Add to the Collection and Share with Readers

Noor Naga Wins Center for Fiction First Novel Prize for ‘If an Egyptian Cannot Speak English’ | Book Pulse

Thriller Debuts: Jun. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Thriller Stand-Alones: Jun. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

U.S. History: Jun. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

World History: Jun. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Historical Fiction: Jun. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Thriller Series: Jun. 2023, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Library of Congress: Announcing LC Labs Data Sandbox and 3 New Data Packages

Jason Williams Named Dryad Board Chair; Results of ORCID’s 2023 Board Election Announced; and More News Headlines

Jason Williams Named Dryad Board Chair; Results of ORCID’s 2023 Board Election Announced; and More News Headlines

Best-Selling Self-Help | The Most Sought-After Titles by Public Libraries

Writing and Implementing a Statement to Remediate Harmful Language in the Library Catalog | Peer to Peer Review

Best Books of the Month | December 2022 Starred Reviews

Emily Henry’s ‘Book Lovers’ Tops LibraryReads 2022 Favorites | Book Pulse

Emily Henry’s ‘Book Lovers’ Tops LibraryReads 2022 Favorites | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘Stella Maris’ by Cormac McCarthy | LibraryReads

Fourth Annual New York City Library Privacy Week Now Underway

Journal Article: “A Landscape of Open Science Policies Research”

Building Digital Research Tools for Open Access to Canada’s Historical Topographic Maps and More News Headlines

A Sense of Place in Coastal California  

‘Stella Maris’ by Cormac McCarthy Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Journal Article: “Free and Open-Source Automated Open Access Preprint Harvesting”

Reimagine Open Culture with the Newly Relaunched Curationist.org, Webinar Scheduled For This Week

The Guardian: “‘Our Mission is Crucial’: Meet the Warrior Librarians of Ukraine”

The 2022 UN Climate Change Conference (COP27): Outcomes and Opportunities for Libraries & More News Headlines

Not Real News: An Associated Press Roundup of Untrue Stories Shared Widely on Social Media This Week

A Letter From the New CEO of Lyrasis, John Wilkin; Indianapolis Public Library Down to Finalists For New CEO; and More News Headlines

Virginia Tech University: “University Libraries’ Carbon Footprint Research Leads to International Best Paper Prize”

Journal Article: “Open Access and Its Potential Impact on Public Health – A South African Perspective”

Tiya Miles Wins the 2022 Cundill History Prize | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Esther’s Notebooks

Readers seeking to experience a strange, yet at its core, familiar slice of life in a country steeped in multiple cultures will enjoy the perspective provided in this collection.
PREMIUM

The Phantom Scientist

A puzzle, a panopticon, and an invitation to seek answers even as obstructions abound, this is an engaging, dryly funny read for armchair philosophers, disillusioned academics, and the unceasingly curious.
PREMIUM

The Man Born To Be King: Wade Annotated Edition

Readers interested in Sayers’s religious writings or in general religious literature will find this book to be informative and useful.

Feels Like Home: A Song for the Sonoran Borderlands

Ronstadt celebrates her roots in this engaging, personal and entertaining hybrid family memoir/cookbook and social history.
PREMIUM

Three Cowboys and a Baby

Primarily set on a cattle ranch, fans of Carolyn Brown will welcome this rustic treat with a bit of spice.
PREMIUM

Mormon Envoy: The Diplomatic Legacy of Dr. John Milton Bernhisel

Worthen’s biography of Bernhisel is also an elegantly written history lesson. Recommended.
PREMIUM

Create Naturally: Go Outside and Rediscover Nature with 15 Makers

An interesting study of art inspired by and integrating nature. Not an essential purchase for an art section but will likely be of interest to many artists and makers.
PREMIUM

Colour Crochet Unlocked: The Ultimate How-To Guide

Overall, a fair introduction to colorwork for the experienced crocheter up for a challenge. Given the intended audience (UK and experienced crocheters), this book is best for larger libraries’ crochet collections.
PREMIUM

Made with Love: Get Hooked with 30 Knitting and Crochet Patterns

There is plenty to like about this book. Its only drawback is that it is written exclusively for right-handers. Experienced left-handed crafters must do their own conversions, and left-handed beginners are advised to look elsewhere. An optional purchase for libraries with craft sections.

Red Carpet Oscars

A delectable compilation, sure to please fashion and film devotees.

TCM Underground: 50 Must-See Films from the World of Classic Cult and Late-Night Cinema

Adventurous film buffs will enjoy the keen-eyed observations and backstories about these obscure, odd, and underappreciated films.

The World Itself: Consciousness and the Everything of Physics

An excellent addition to any science collection, Danielsson’s book serves as an exceptional ingress into the universe of theoretical physics and how it relates to a diverse cross section of human interests.
PREMIUM

The Peaceful Transfer of Power: An Oral History of America’s Presidential Transitions

A guide to decision-making past, present, and future that users will likely want to consult repeatedly.

The Hidden Company That Trees Keep: Life from Treetops to Root Tips

This one belongs in every academic library and in most public libraries. Highly recommended.

Tenacious Beasts: Wildlife Recoveries That Change How We Think About Animals

This makes for an excellent recommendation to readers searching for thoughtful but hopeful books on the future of nature.
PREMIUM

Barrow of Winter

This novel from Long (Temple of No God) is a self-contained story that can be read without reading the previous titles set in the same universe, but readers will definitely want to seek out the others. Fans of character-centric fantasy with a well-built world will find much to love about Thray, the Hall of Smoke world, and its denizens.

The Vegan Week: Meal Prep Recipes To Feed Your Future Self

Hamshaw’s collection of balanced, bountiful recipe templates will add vibrancy to any time-crunched cook’s repertoire, vegan or not.
PREMIUM

Downshiftology Healthy Meal Prep: 100+ Make-Ahead Recipes and Quick-Assembly Meals; A Gluten-Free Cookbook

Recommended for all public libraries
PREMIUM

Parks and Recreation Galentine’s Day: The Official Guide to Friendship, Fun, and Cocktails

This is everything readers would expect in an official guide composed of recipes and crafts from the show. Gather some friends, and enjoy!

The Edge of the Plain: How Borders Make and Break Our World

A timely, valuable discussion of a pivotal issue.

Prepub Alert: The Complete List | May 2023

New Report From the Internet Archive: “Securing Digital Rights For Libraries: Towards an Affirmative Policy Agenda for a Better Internet”

Maps: Three New Series Relating to Puerto Rico Fully Digitized and Available Online From NARA

Journal Article: “A Database Tells No Tales: Narrating Inquiry with LibGuides”

Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Statement on Texas Library Coalition for United Action Agreement with Elsevier; 2022 Urban Libraries Council Annual Forum Recap; and More Headlines

Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Statement on Texas Library Coalition for United Action Agreement with Elsevier; 2022 Urban Libraries Council Annual Forum Recap; and More Headlines

PREMIUM

Bitter Medicine

Urban fantasy readers will appreciate the well-crafted hidden world, and lovers of bad boy or Mafia romances will see Luc as their darkly delicious type, all while Elle’s long sacrifice will break readers’ hearts. Fans of Sarah J. Maas’s epic paranormal fantasies will also find much to savor in Tsai’s debut.

Assassin of Reality

As with the previous book, inventive storytelling delves into philosophical concepts such as time, meaning, and language. This is a novel that transcends genre and will astound readers looking for serious, contemporary fiction.

PREMIUM

Don’t Think, Dear: On Loving and Leaving Ballet

Captures ballet’s romance as well as its dark and traumatic side.
PREMIUM

The Woman Who Dared: The Life and Times of Pearl White, Queen of the Serials

Sometimes there’s too much detail, but this is a well-researched biography that covers White’s life and offers a good assessment of the silent-film industry.
PREMIUM

See What You’re Missing: New Ways of Looking at the World Through Art

Twenty-five crisp chapters on 25 separate artists allow Gompertz the room to explore both detail and concept in this well-organized labor of love. His first-person perspective places the historical artworks in the present while making all the artwork immediate and relevant. Effortless prose and laser focus on the communicative potential of art make this a worthwhile read for students, professionals, or interested observers.
PREMIUM

White: The History of a Color

Thorough research and abundant illustrations characterize this sixth and final volume in Pastoureau’s scholarly series primarily of interest to art and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

I Wanna Dance with Somebody: The Official Whitney Houston Film Companion

An interesting take on the art of filmmaking and a touching tribute to Houston and her lifelong search for home.

In Living Color: A Cultural History

A must-read book on the history of a show that molded Black comedy sketches and brings together different threads of social awareness, race, entrepreneurship, comedy, resilience, and bravery in the face of a world not used to seeing “in living color.”

The Wonder Paradox: Embracing the Weirdness of Existence and the Poetry of Our Lives

Warmth and enthusiasm suffuse Hecht’s enchanting prose, which make this book a moving, hopeful read.

Weaving Sundown in a Scarlet Light: Fifty Poems for Fifty Years

Harjo is a national treasure, perhaps even a national resource, and this important book is an essential addition to contemporary poetry collections everywhere.
PREMIUM

The Disney Animation Renaissance: Behind the Glass at the Florida Studio

An intriguing piece of Disney lore, but only for completists.

Freedom Moves: Hip Hop Knowledges, Pedagogies, and Futures

All academic libraries as well as public libraries with high community activism should purchase this. Includes photos and an index.
PREMIUM

As We See It: Artists Redefining Black Identity

This is an attractively illustrated global travelogue featuring a selective group of contemporary Black artists with a slim, interpretative look at theme and technique based on information culled mostly from websites and a few recent texts. A handy, colorful start for art students in particular, to explore how Black culture is being redefined through popular expression.
PREMIUM

Punk: The Definitive Guide to the Blank Generation & Beyond

Though not unearthing any new material or assembling the definitive guide to his subject, Weidman offers a rock-solid, well-informed overview of punk rock and its offspring for the uninitiated.
PREMIUM

Harvard, Hollywood, Hitmen, and Holy Men: A Memoir

This memoir is muddled. Only for confirmed film enthusiasts.
PREMIUM

Oscar Hammerstein II and the Invention of the Musical

Winer’s exploration of Hammerstein’s journey is timely, respectful, and deserving of inclusion in strong performing arts collections.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?