Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

In France Profound: The Long History of a House, a Mountain Town, and a People

Best suited for fans of Allman’s work, along with readers intrigued by a little-known French town, the author’s 800-year-old house, and the book’s contemporary elements. This will appeal to readers who enjoy Martin Walker’s “Bruno, Chief of Police” mystery series as well.

Invisible Labor: The Untold Story of the Cesarean Section

This inciting, empowering book shows the clear need not just to improve women’s access to health care but also to shift the paradigm about the restrictions placed on reproductive rights.
PREMIUM

Project Eagle: The Top-Secret OSS Operation That Sent Polish Spies Behind Enemy Lines in World War II

These reports on a relatively small part of the war offer a glimpse of the problems and successes of inserting agents into enemy territory. Recommended for large World War II collections.
PREMIUM

Yukikaze’s War: The Unsinkable Japanese Destroyer and World War II in the Pacific

This solid history of Japan’s Yukikaze naval destroyer is worth adding to collections.
PREMIUM

Rooted: The American Legacy of Land Theft and the Modern Movement for Black Land Ownership

Readers interested in a broad interpretive sketch of dispossessive effects of colonization, enslavement and its aftermath may be drawn to Baker’s personalized recounting of the continuing significance of Black people’s efforts to realize the dream of owning land and the profits it produces.
PREMIUM

Ancient Rome in Fifty Monuments

This solid, recommended, visually rich title is excellent in its depiction of temples, basilicas, forums and arches, but it does not stand alone as an introduction to ancient Rome. It’s best utilized as a supplement to more detailed and text-based histories of ancient Rome.
PREMIUM

Putin and the Return of History: How the Kremlin Rekindled the Cold War

A critical profile of Putin’s worldview. Thematically similar to Mikhail Zygar’s War and Punishment, this book focuses on Putin’s career in the Russian government.
PREMIUM

1217: The Battles That Saved England

An insightful look at a key but underrecognized moment in English history. History buffs will love it.
PREMIUM

The War That Made America: Essays Inspired by the Scholarship of Gary W. Gallagher

Readers interested in the latest research on Civil War history that moves beyond battles and leaders will enjoy this title.

The Cleopatras: The Forgotten Queens of Egypt

Llewellen-Jones’s extensive research on all seven of these intriguing Cleopatras is expertly presented. Highly recommended.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Demon of Unrest’ by Erik Larson | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Bloody Tuesday: The Untold Story of the Struggle for Civil Rights in Tuscaloosa

A powerful analysis and assemblage of oral histories from Black residents of Tuscaloosa, AL, demonstrating racism’s lingering effect on people, generation after generation.

The Book-Makers: A History of the Book in Eighteen Lives

A must for book lovers. Give to fans of Christopher de Hamel’s The Manuscripts Club.
PREMIUM

When Women Ran Fifth Ave: Glamour and Power at the Dawn of American Fashion

A fascinating journalistic study of three pioneering women in the changing retail landscape of the 20th-century United States. Shoppers who’ve been surfing Amazon in sweatpants since the pandemic began might look back on the eras of Odlum, Shaver, and Stutz with nostalgia.

Reds: The Tragedy of American Communism

This engaging history is based on a wide array of memoirs, FBI files, and other primary records that illuminate the American Communist Party’s lengthy history. Readers of U.S. history, especially about movements deemed radical, will be interested in this title.

The Light of Battle: Eisenhower, D-Day, and the Birth of the American Superpower

This magnificent study is based on deep archival research and offers a comprehensive look into the planning of the Allied invasion of France. Readers interested in World War II history, especially about D-Day, should enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Wrong Stuff: How the Soviet Space Program Crashed and Burned

Recommended for general readers who enjoy books about spaceflight, engineering innovations, and the politics of engineering.
PREMIUM

A Gentleman from Japan: The Untold Story of an Incredible Journey from Asia to Queen Elizabeth’s Court

Highly recommended for readers interested in the Age of Discovery. The author does an excellent job of placing Christopher’s story in the greater context of the era’s global history.
PREMIUM

Headstrap: Legends and Lore from the Climbing Sherpas of Darjeeling

This book ensures that the Sherpa community gets the recognition they deserve, as no Himalayan expedition would be successful without them. For enthusiasts of mountaineering and ethnic studies.
PREMIUM

Populus: Living and Dying in Ancient Rome

This is an intriguing account of life in ancient Rome. General readers of Roman history that goes beyond emperors and legions will appreciate it the most.

History | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Unforgettables: Winners, Losers, Strong Women, and Eccentric Men of the Civil War Era

Culled from the author’s three decades of researching and writing about the Civil War, this book provides vibrant accounts of many prominent people of the era. Readers interested in an introduction to a variety of Civil War personalities and American history will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Out of One, Many: Ancient Greek Ways of Thought and Culture

An entertaining and witty exploration of Greek history that will introduce readers to a variety of beliefs from ancient Greece.

Gamblers, Fraudsters, Dreamers & Spies: The Outsiders Who Shaped Modern Japan

A brilliant, insightful look into the panoply of outsiders who contributed to the making of Japanese history in the modern age.
PREMIUM

Normal Women: Nine Hundred Years of Making History

A comprehensive saga about British women and their obstacles throughout hundreds of years. Suitable for all readers.

In the Shadow of Diagnosis: Psychiatric Power and Queer Life

This beautifully written, highly recommended book will find readers across a wide spectrum of academic fields, notably the history of science and psychiatry. But general audiences interested in seeing how professionals can correct an industry will enjoy this too.
PREMIUM

To the Ends of the Earth: How Ancient Explorers, Scientists, and Traders Connected the World

An up-to-date, comprehensive work on ancient exploration. Highly recommended for scholarly readers, but general readers who are interested in reading titles that reevaluate when globalization began will appreciate it as well.
PREMIUM

50 Years of Ms.: The Best of the Pathfinding Magazine That Ignited a Revolution

A chorus of voices brings to life the writings, reflections, and history of a groundbreaking magazine. Pair with Stuff Mom Never Told You by Anney Reese and Samantha McVey.
PREMIUM

All the Presidents’ Gardens: Madison’s Cabbages to Kennedy’s Roses—How the White House Grounds Have Grown with America

A lighthearted survey of the White House gardens, entertaining if occasionally insubstantial.
PREMIUM

Hamilton Heights and Sugar Hill: Alexander Hamilton’s Old Harlem Neighborhood Through the Centuries

A fascinating record of the history and culture of influential neighborhoods in Harlem.

Awakening the Spirit of America: FDR’s War of Words With Charles Lindbergh—and the Battle To Save Democracy

This deeply researched, engaging work demonstrates what was at stake in the war of words between Roosevelt and isolationists in the immediate years prior to the U.S.’s entry into WWII. There’s much to enjoy in this title.
PREMIUM

The Situation Room: The Inside Story of Presidents in Crisis

Personal accounts drive this highly recommended book’s powerful accounts of the crises handled over 60 years in the Situation Room.

’Tis Not Our War: Avoiding Military Service in the Civil War North

This work fills a real void in Civil War scholarship. It isn’t a revisionist history so much as a correction of the record, written with understanding and empathy.

The Struggle for Taiwan: A History of America, China, and the Island Caught Between

Highly recommended for anyone interested in China-Taiwan-U.S. relations.

Burma ’44: The Battle That Turned World War II in the East

A thrilling account of a little-known but vital battle, for readers interested in World War II history, especially the Pacific Theater of Operations.
PREMIUM

Patton’s Prayer: A True Story of Courage, Faith, and Victory in World War II

This concise account of Patton and the Third Army is based on a wide array of primary and secondary sources, including Patton’s own writings and military records. Readers interested in World War II history, and Patton specifically, will enjoy.

Four Shots in the Night: A True Story of Spies, Murder, and Justice in Northern Ireland

Readers interested in the Troubles will be intrigued by this dive into violence and secrecy surrounding the IRA.

History | Prepub Alert, October 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Sparta and the Commemoration of War

A unique interpretation of the second most popular Greek polis, but some of the utilized sources contradict each other.
PREMIUM

Searching for Billie: A Journalist’s Quest To Understand His Mother’s Past Leads Him To Discover a Vanished China

Readers interested in Chinese history, Asian and Western relations, especially pre-World War II and pre-Communist China will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

Klan War: Ulysses S. Grant and the Battle To Save Reconstruction

This emotional deep dive into the Klan’s roots and how Grant tried to suppress their impact reinforces the notion that while the Civil War may have legally ended enslavement, Reconstruction did nothing to eliminate prejudice and discrimination.
PREMIUM

Black AF History: The Un-Whitewashed Story of America

A stimulating, deeply researched history that is simultaneously entertaining and heartbreaking. Harriot’s self-narrated work is an essential purchase for all audio history collections.
PREMIUM

The Cost of Free Land: Jews, Lakota, and an American Inheritance

Clarren lays bare the many wrongs inflicted on Indigenous peoples and suggests possible means of making reparations. An eye-opening book exploring the author’s family history against a troubling historical backdrop.
PREMIUM

God Save Benedict Arnold: The True Story of America’s Most Hated Man

A fascinating new look at this enigmatic American Revolution hero/traitor, delivered objectively.
PREMIUM

Sailing the Graveyard Sea: The Deathly Voyage of the Somers, the U.S. Navy’s Only Mutiny, and the Trial That Gripped the Nation

Recommended for fans of David Grann’s The Wager or Nathaniel Philbrick’s In the Heart of the Sea.
PREMIUM

The Burning of the World: The Great Chicago Fire and the War for a City’s Soul

Hopkins’s skillful performance of Berg’s meticulously researched narrative of the fire and its aftermath is a must-listen for anyone interested in American history and urban development.
PREMIUM

Escape from Camp 14: One Man’s Remarkable Odyssey from North Korea to Freedom in the West

Harden’s stunning account of Shin’s life reflects the courage and strength of one man who escaped brutal captivity in hopes of a better life.
PREMIUM

The Trials of Madame Restell: Nineteenth-Century America’s Most Infamous Female Physician and the Campaign To Make Abortion a Crime

A timely, well-researched account that provides historical insight into present-day debates about abortion and reproductive rights in the United States.
PREMIUM

A Travel Guide to the Middle Ages: The World Through Medieval Eyes

An informative and entertaining account of medieval travel that will be appreciated by readers of both popular history and travel stories. Those more interested in relics should consult Patrick J. Geary’s Furta Sacra.
PREMIUM

Forbidden Desire in Early Modern Europe: Male-Male Sexual Relations, 1400–1750

A significant contribution to the debate on the making of modern sexualities and an essential read for historians and serious students of premodern European history. Both general readers and scholars will undoubtedly come away with new insights from this meticulously researched and argued book.
PREMIUM

Soviet Adventures in the Land of the Capitalists: Ilf and Petrov’s American Road Trip

This book traces the elisions and obfuscations in Ilf and Petrov’s story and the political and humorous motivations they may have had for doing so. Questions of politics, art, commerce, identity, and how Soviet citizens perceived themselves in relation to Americans make for a fascinating story. It’s somewhat academic, but this book is a must for readers interested in Soviet, American, or Jewish history and radical politics.

Skies of Thunder: The Deadly World War II Mission Over the Roof of the World

Readers interested in the China-Burma-India Theater of World War II and Asian history will enjoy Alexander’s detailed and beautifully written account.

Cracking the Nazi Code: The Untold Story of Agent A12 and the Solving of the Holocaust Code

An extraordinary story of one man’s efforts to stop the Nazi regime. Best for those who enjoy history, biography, and tales of espionage.
PREMIUM

Exodus: The Shanghai Jews

A short but compelling docudrama that breathes life into the accounts of a too-little-discussed population of Holocaust survivors in Shanghai. Share with educators and general audiobook listeners seeking accounts of Jewish refugees or World War II history.
PREMIUM

The Mysterious Case of Rudolf Diesel: Genius, Power, and Deception on the Eve of World War I

Brunt’s well-researched account should appeal to listeners interested in technology, engineering, and the social and political climate of the early 20th century.
PREMIUM

Defining Documents in American History: Workers’ Rights

A distinctive collection of important primary papers with supporting text that provides historical context, relevance, and significance of those sources. Great for student reports.
PREMIUM

Unruly: The Ridiculous History of England’s Kings and Queens

An absurdist history of English monarchs that entertains as it informs. Pair with Stephen Bates’s The Shortest History of the Crown.

Harry Truman’s Excellent Adventure: The True Story of a Great American Road Trip

Algeo’s thoroughly engaging account of a former president’s unique summer road trip is chock-full of fascinating details and interesting people. Highly recommended for those interested in Americana and social and political history.
PREMIUM

The Place We Make: Breaking the Legacy of Legalized Hate

Sanderson’s research-supported arguments and persuasive, well-paced narration make for a compelling listen. Though the audio may be of special interest to those supporting racial reparations, progressive Christians, and Oregonians, this story deserves to be heard far and wide.
PREMIUM

The Manuscripts Club: The People Behind a Thousand Years of Medieval Manuscripts

Libraries who purchased Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts should acquire this marvelous companion piece.

History | Prepub Alert, September 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

I Will Tell No War Stories: What Our Fathers Left Unsaid About World War II

To readers’ benefit, the author comes to understand his father better, and he shares insights into air combatants’ experiences during World War II.
PREMIUM

A Nasty Little War: The Western Intervention into the Russian Civil War

A well-researched deep dive into military and political actions set against post–Russian Revolution.

Knights of Freedom: With the Hell on Wheels Armored Division in World War II; A Story in Photos

An excellent, moving depiction that captures the defining period of a soldier’s life. Strongly recommended.

The Trojan Horse and Other Stories: Ten Ancient Creatures That Make Us Human

Highly recommended for both disciples and skeptics of classics. It’s also perfect for fans of nonfiction by Natalie Haynes.
PREMIUM

How the Spanish Empire Was Built: A 400 Year History

An engaging new approach to understanding the spread of the Spanish empire. Highly recommended.

Have You Got Good Religion? Black Women’s Faith, Courage, and Moral Leadership in the Civil Rights Movement

From the life of Prathia Hall, an activist theologian who inspired Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech, to the story of Bree Newsome Bass, who climbed a flagpole to remove the Confederate flag at the South Carolina statehouse in 2015, less than two weeks after the murder of nine people in Charleston’s A.M.E. Church, this book delivers a powerful, passionate, and educational reading experience.

History | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Black Elders: The Meaning of Age in American Slavery and Freedom

A readily accessible read for all interested in the chronic, painful, physical, and mental battles that marked the daily lives of enslaved and emancipated Black people approaching the end of life, reckoning with their prospects, and reflecting on their mortality. This book centers elders, their roles, and day-to-day class and gender relations and demonstrates how Black communities cared for each other as they tried to maintain material and moral intergenerational bonds during and immediately after the era of enslavement.
PREMIUM

The Making of a King: King Charles III and the Modern Monarchy

This title delivers a quite informative and historic account of events from Queen Elizabeth’s passing to Charles’s first year as King. Royal fans will appreciate this work, but the book’s portrayals of Harry and Meghan may come across as unfair to some readers.
PREMIUM

Treaty Justice: The Northwest Tribes, the Boldt Decision, and the Recognition of Fishing Rights

Readers interested in the history of Indigenous peoples, the Pacific Northwest, and legal battles will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

No Bullet Got Me Yet: The Relentless Faith of Father Kapaun

Readers interested in military and Korean War history and faith-based stories will enjoy this book about a man whose simple yet profound piety influenced all who came in contact with him, regardless of their faith or background.

The Black Box: Writing the Race

A must for scholars, yet still accessible to general audiences, by arguably the preeminent scholar of African American studies. This gem brilliantly reflects multiple depictions of what it means to be a Black American amid complex, structured interracial and color-based discrimination discourses, in which writing and language are keys.
PREMIUM

Exploring American Jewish History Through 50 Historic Treasures

An intriguing, illustrated volume that showcases the link between Jewish artifacts and U.S. history.
PREMIUM

Saving Michelangelo’s Dome: How Three Mathematicians and a Pope Sparked an Architectural Revolution

An accessible book about the history of the dome that sparked an architectural revolution; recommended for general audiences.
PREMIUM

Power and Glory: Elizabeth II and the Rebirth of Royalty

Highly recommended for Larman’s fans and for readers seeking a royal history that is appropriately critical.
PREMIUM

Puerto Rico: A National History

Meléndez-Badillo does a good job of explaining Puerto Rico’s complicated history. An essential addition to most libraries, for general readers of all types.

Silent Cavalry: How Union Soldiers from Alabama Helped Sherman Burn Atlanta—and Then Got Written Out of History

This compellingly narrated contribution to U.S. Civil War historiography, made personal by Raines’s family history, is illuminating and thought-provoking. An important update to Margaret M. Storey’s Loyalty and Loss: Alabama’s Unionists in the Civil War and Reconstruction and an excellent addition to any audio history collection.
PREMIUM

The Unit: My Life Fighting Terrorists as One of America’s Most Secret Military Operatives

A quick, thought-provoking read that lays out both strengths and flaws of the U.S. military in equal measure. Fans of modern military history will find this title enjoyable.

Combee: Harriet Tubman, the Combahee River Raid, and Black Freedom During the Civil War

A scholarly and remarkable work about enslavement and Civil War history that makes an excellent choice for reading groups and libraries. Readers will gain a deeper understanding of that era’s times and experiences, and Fields-Black’s connection to one of the participants makes it a personal work as well.

History | Prepub Alert, July 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

UFO: The Inside Story of the US Government’s Search for Alien Life Here—and Out There

This is not a dry retelling of the facts that many people think they already know about unidentified flying objects. Instead, it’s a thrilling tale of ongoing discussions in and outside of the halls of government that’s sure to leave readers feeling more curious than ever. The mysteries of the universe may never be known, but Graff’s carefully crafted prose will intrigue readers and leave them asking if Earthlings are alone in the cosmos.
PREMIUM

Beyond Norma Rae: How Puerto Rican and Southern White Women Fought for a Place in the American Working Class

A deft analysis of the ways in which race, gender, and immigration status determine how media has portrayed the labor movement. Recommended for readers interested in labor history and popular media.
PREMIUM

The Age of Revolutions: And the Generations Who Made It

A well-researched, well-written, and thoughtful presentation that asserts that revolutionaries were challenged by creating and sustaining mass political movements. Give to readers curious about world history and current affairs.
PREMIUM

Red Memory: The Afterlives of China’s Cultural Revolution

A valuable addition to library collections that explores the connections between politics and belief and their consequences.
PREMIUM

The Doctor Was a Woman: Stories of the First Female Physicians on the Frontier

A collection of tales about real superhero women and how they won respect. This title would be a good museum store book or as an adjunct resource for a senior high classroom module on the American West.

My Brother, My Land: A Story from Palestine

A timely, powerful book from a Palestinian perspective. For readers who want to gain a deep understanding of the current conflict in Palestine, particularly about life in Gaza and the West Bank.
PREMIUM

The Freaks Came Out To Write: The Definitive History of the Village Voice, the Radical Paper That Changed American Culture

An exceptional resource in which readers get a real flavor of the exciting and troubling times throughout the Village Voice’s run and the opportunity to draw their own conclusions about its rise (and fall in 2017). Recommended for academic libraries and comprehensive journalism collections.
PREMIUM

Royal Audience: 70 Years, 13 Presidents—One Queen’s Special Relationship with America

An intriguing narrative that’s remarkable reading about Queen Elizabeth II, her diplomacy, and her relationships with U.S. presidents over the years.
PREMIUM

Brought Forth on This Continent: Abraham Lincoln and American Immigration

An outstanding and important book on Lincoln and immigration. A must for readers of American history and immigration studies.

After 1177 B.C.: The Survival of Civilizations

The topic may appear arcane, but Cline makes it relevant and tells a compelling, original, and fruitful story. This title has significant meaning in an overstressed world. For more than just history buffs.
PREMIUM

World of War: A History of American Warfare from Jamestown to the War on Terror

A worthy general survey. This should please many readers looking for a single-volume introductory text on U.S. military history, but it includes a controversial sentence about colonists.
PREMIUM

The Killing Ground: A Biography of Thermopylae

The book focuses on how Thermopylae constrained battles and those who fought them. Along the way, a number of myths are debunked. Well-handled, but military history enthusiasts will probably be drawn to it the most.

The Survivors of the Clotilda: The Lost Stories of the Last Captives of the American Slave Trade

A highly recommended sweeping saga. Based on a rich archive that includes the survivors’ own stories, one of which became the basis for Zora Neale Hurston’s Barracoon, this title provides a human history of enslaved people and a portrait of the postbellum South.
PREMIUM

The Bulldog Detective: William J. Flynn and America’s First War Against the Mafia, Spies, and Terrorists

Readers intrigued by recent FBI histories such as Beverly Gage’s G-Man: J. Edgar Hoover and the Making of the American Century should access this first comprehensive biography of one of Hoover’s predecessors. It has the rapid pace of a spy novel. For specialists and generalists alike.
PREMIUM

The Ones Who Got Away: Mighty Eighth Airmen on the Run in Occupied Europe

Diligent and intriguing historical research puts readers, alongside fugitive English airmen, and resistance hosts, firmly on occupied territory from 1942 to 1944. Readers will gain knowledge about their obstacles and successes.

How We Outwitted and Survived the Nazis: The True Story of the Holocaust Rescuers, Zofia Sterner and Her Family

Extraordinary storytelling about unfathomable horror. At the core of it is a remarkable woman and her family who not only refused to allow the Nazis to exterminate them, but they also saved others. For readers who enjoy history, Judaic studies, and human-interest stories.

King: A Life

Though lengthy (clocking in at just under 21 hours), this gripping biography of a revolutionary leader flies by. Listeners interested in a new perspective of Martin Luther King Jr.’s life will be captivated.
PREMIUM

Dream Town: Shaker Heights and the Quest for Racial Equity

This portrait of one community’s struggle to achieve racial equity should appeal to those interested in social justice, education reform, and civil rights.
PREMIUM

Gallop Toward the Sun: Tecumseh and William Henry Harrison’s Struggle for the Destiny of a Nation

An affecting performance of a pivotal point in American history. Recommended for readers of H.W. Brands’s The Last Campaign or Peter Cozzens’s A Brutal Reckoning.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?