Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Demon of Unrest: A Saga of Hubris, Heartbreak, and Heroism at the Dawn of the Civil War

Civil War buffs will be pleased with the laser focus of Larson’s latest; others may find it overly detailed and slow. Still, given Larson’s popularity, this is an essential purchase.

American Civil Wars: A Continental History, 1850–1873

Based on an impressive array of secondary sources, this outstanding account will appeal to readers interested in the U.S. Civil War seeking to understand how it affected Mexico and British North America.
PREMIUM

A History of the World in Twelve Shipwrecks

Gibbins’s intimate knowledge of underwater archaeology and his appealing writing style make this book attractive to fans of popular history and narratives with maritime themes. Give to readers who enjoyed David Grann’s The Wager.
PREMIUM

Strike Up the Band: New York City in the Roaring Twenties

This highly recommended book bears comparison to Frederick Lewis Allen’s Only Yesterday. For general readers seeking a broad understanding of the decade and New York or scholars needing a reference point for this combustible era.

History | Prepub Alert, December 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

In France Profound: The Long History of a House, a Mountain Town, and a People

Best suited for fans of Allman’s work, along with readers intrigued by a little-known French town, the author’s 800-year-old house, and the book’s contemporary elements. This will appeal to readers who enjoy Martin Walker’s “Bruno, Chief of Police” mystery series as well.

Invisible Labor: The Untold Story of the Cesarean Section

This inciting, empowering book shows the clear need not just to improve women’s access to health care but also to shift the paradigm about the restrictions placed on reproductive rights.
PREMIUM

Project Eagle: The Top-Secret OSS Operation That Sent Polish Spies Behind Enemy Lines in World War II

These reports on a relatively small part of the war offer a glimpse of the problems and successes of inserting agents into enemy territory. Recommended for large World War II collections.
PREMIUM

Yukikaze’s War: The Unsinkable Japanese Destroyer and World War II in the Pacific

This solid history of Japan’s Yukikaze naval destroyer is worth adding to collections.

Masters of the Air: America’s Bomber Boys Who Fought the Air War Against Nazi Germany

This comprehensive, gripping account of WWII’s brutal and deadly air war is highly recommended for military and WWII history buffs as well as those who enjoyed the Apple TV series. Harrowing, fascinating, and insightful.

The Black Box: Writing the Race

Listeners who seek to engage in today’s debates about school curricula, inclusive perspectives on U.S. history, and forming a shared national culture will find this powerfully argued and narrated work an invaluable resource.
PREMIUM

Aid State: Elite Panic, Disaster Capitalism, and the Battle To Control Haiti

While heartbreaking and discouraging, Johnston’s indictment of the aid industrial complex is essential listening, critically important when considering future responses to natural disasters.

The Survivors of the Clotilda: The Lost Stories of the Last Captives of the American Slave Trade

An intriguing, meticulously researched look at the legacy of the Clotilda with a focus on the descendants’ experiences in postbellum America.
PREMIUM

The Deerfield Massacre: A Surprise Attack, a Forced March, and the Fight for Survival in Early America

Swanson’s account of the massacre and its aftermath provides insight into details of an historical event and the ways in which it has been remembered and even mythologized over the centuries. An excellent recommendation for listeners interested in early American history.
PREMIUM

Smoke and Ashes: Opium’s Hidden Histories

Recommended for listeners seeking to learn more about opium, including its earliest history, its impact on the lands and communities that handled it, and its reverberations into the present day. Fans of Stephen R. Platt’s Imperial Twilight will want to check this out.
PREMIUM

Black Folk: The Roots of the Black Working Class

Kelley’s powerful, corrective history is not to be missed. Share with listeners seeking a different take on traditional interpretations of U.S. labor history.
PREMIUM

50 Years of Ms.: The Best of the Pathfinding Magazine That Ignited a Revolution

A chorus of voices brings to life the writings, reflections, and history of a groundbreaking magazine. Pair with Anney Reese and Samatha McVey’s Stuff Mom Never Told You.
PREMIUM

Remembering Peasants: A Personal History of a Vanished World

A well-researched, sweeping account of a little-remembered but critically important group of people. Share with listeners interested in social history, particularly the impact of urbanization and industrialization on agrarian lifestyles.

Chamber Divers: The Untold Story of the D-Day Scientists Who Changed Special Operations Forever

Lance’s important work reveals how chamber divers helped develop much of the technology that has enabled today’s popular underwater diving and military stealth diving. Her work significantly updates and expands R. Frank Busby’s Manned Submersibles and Robert F. Marx’s The History of Underwater Exploration. This one is destined for Hollywood and is essential for all World War II collections.
PREMIUM

The Picnic: A Dream of Freedom and the Collapse of the Iron Curtain

An in-depth dive, presented objectively, into the politics of nation-building..
PREMIUM

American Vikings: How the Norse Sailed into the Lands and Imaginations of America

A companionable yet thought-provoking listen that may encourage listeners to further explore Norse and Anglo-Saxon history.
PREMIUM

A History of Women in 101 Objects

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a fresh, encyclopedic investigation into objects that reflect women’s ingenuity, bravery, and commitment as well as myths that have governed their lives for centuries. Recommended for fans of witty, well-researched women’s history and gender studies.

The Wide Wide Sea: Imperial Ambition, First Contact and the Fateful Final Voyage of Captain James Cook

This well-researched work is a must-listen for those seeking a comprehensive understanding of the complexities of Cook’s life and legacy. The book supplements J.C. Beaglehole’s 1992 classic The Life of Captain James Cook and is highly recommended for any collection centering on the Age of Sail.
PREMIUM

Ancient Rome in Fifty Monuments

This solid, recommended, visually rich title is excellent in its depiction of temples, basilicas, forums and arches, but it does not stand alone as an introduction to ancient Rome. It’s best utilized as a supplement to more detailed and text-based histories of ancient Rome.
PREMIUM

Rooted: The American Legacy of Land Theft and the Modern Movement for Black Land Ownership

Readers interested in a broad interpretive sketch of dispossessive effects of colonization, enslavement and its aftermath may be drawn to Baker’s personalized recounting of the continuing significance of Black people’s efforts to realize the dream of owning land and the profits it produces.
PREMIUM

Putin and the Return of History: How the Kremlin Rekindled the Cold War

A critical profile of Putin’s worldview. Thematically similar to Mikhail Zygar’s War and Punishment, this book focuses on Putin’s career in the Russian government.
PREMIUM

1217: The Battles That Saved England

An insightful look at a key but underrecognized moment in English history. History buffs will love it.
PREMIUM

The War That Made America: Essays Inspired by the Scholarship of Gary W. Gallagher

Readers interested in the latest research on Civil War history that moves beyond battles and leaders will enjoy this title.

The Cleopatras: The Forgotten Queens of Egypt

Llewellen-Jones’s extensive research on all seven of these intriguing Cleopatras is expertly presented. Highly recommended.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Demon of Unrest’ by Erik Larson | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Bloody Tuesday: The Untold Story of the Struggle for Civil Rights in Tuscaloosa

A powerful analysis and assemblage of oral histories from Black residents of Tuscaloosa, AL, demonstrating racism’s lingering effect on people, generation after generation.

The Book-Makers: A History of the Book in Eighteen Lives

A must for book lovers. Give to fans of Christopher de Hamel’s The Manuscripts Club.
PREMIUM

When Women Ran Fifth Ave: Glamour and Power at the Dawn of American Fashion

A fascinating journalistic study of three pioneering women in the changing retail landscape of the 20th-century United States. Shoppers who’ve been surfing Amazon in sweatpants since the pandemic began might look back on the eras of Odlum, Shaver, and Stutz with nostalgia.

Reds: The Tragedy of American Communism

This engaging history is based on a wide array of memoirs, FBI files, and other primary records that illuminate the American Communist Party’s lengthy history. Readers of U.S. history, especially about movements deemed radical, will be interested in this title.

The Light of Battle: Eisenhower, D-Day, and the Birth of the American Superpower

This magnificent study is based on deep archival research and offers a comprehensive look into the planning of the Allied invasion of France. Readers interested in World War II history, especially about D-Day, should enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Wrong Stuff: How the Soviet Space Program Crashed and Burned

Recommended for general readers who enjoy books about spaceflight, engineering innovations, and the politics of engineering.
PREMIUM

A Gentleman from Japan: The Untold Story of an Incredible Journey from Asia to Queen Elizabeth’s Court

Highly recommended for readers interested in the Age of Discovery. The author does an excellent job of placing Christopher’s story in the greater context of the era’s global history.
PREMIUM

Headstrap: Legends and Lore from the Climbing Sherpas of Darjeeling

This book ensures that the Sherpa community gets the recognition they deserve, as no Himalayan expedition would be successful without them. For enthusiasts of mountaineering and ethnic studies.
PREMIUM

Populus: Living and Dying in Ancient Rome

This is an intriguing account of life in ancient Rome. General readers of Roman history that goes beyond emperors and legions will appreciate it the most.

History | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Unforgettables: Winners, Losers, Strong Women, and Eccentric Men of the Civil War Era

Culled from the author’s three decades of researching and writing about the Civil War, this book provides vibrant accounts of many prominent people of the era. Readers interested in an introduction to a variety of Civil War personalities and American history will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Out of One, Many: Ancient Greek Ways of Thought and Culture

An entertaining and witty exploration of Greek history that will introduce readers to a variety of beliefs from ancient Greece.

Gamblers, Fraudsters, Dreamers & Spies: The Outsiders Who Shaped Modern Japan

A brilliant, insightful look into the panoply of outsiders who contributed to the making of Japanese history in the modern age.
PREMIUM

Normal Women: Nine Hundred Years of Making History

A comprehensive saga about British women and their obstacles throughout hundreds of years. Suitable for all readers.

In the Shadow of Diagnosis: Psychiatric Power and Queer Life

This beautifully written, highly recommended book will find readers across a wide spectrum of academic fields, notably the history of science and psychiatry. But general audiences interested in seeing how professionals can correct an industry will enjoy this too.
PREMIUM

To the Ends of the Earth: How Ancient Explorers, Scientists, and Traders Connected the World

An up-to-date, comprehensive work on ancient exploration. Highly recommended for scholarly readers, but general readers who are interested in reading titles that reevaluate when globalization began will appreciate it as well.
PREMIUM

Hamilton Heights and Sugar Hill: Alexander Hamilton’s Old Harlem Neighborhood Through the Centuries

A fascinating record of the history and culture of influential neighborhoods in Harlem.

Awakening the Spirit of America: FDR’s War of Words With Charles Lindbergh—and the Battle To Save Democracy

This deeply researched, engaging work demonstrates what was at stake in the war of words between Roosevelt and isolationists in the immediate years prior to the U.S.’s entry into WWII. There’s much to enjoy in this title.
PREMIUM

The Situation Room: The Inside Story of Presidents in Crisis

Personal accounts drive this highly recommended book’s powerful accounts of the crises handled over 60 years in the Situation Room.

’Tis Not Our War: Avoiding Military Service in the Civil War North

This work fills a real void in Civil War scholarship. It isn’t a revisionist history so much as a correction of the record, written with understanding and empathy.

The Struggle for Taiwan: A History of America, China, and the Island Caught Between

Highly recommended for anyone interested in China-Taiwan-U.S. relations.

Burma ’44: The Battle That Turned World War II in the East

A thrilling account of a little-known but vital battle, for readers interested in World War II history, especially the Pacific Theater of Operations.
PREMIUM

Patton’s Prayer: A True Story of Courage, Faith, and Victory in World War II

This concise account of Patton and the Third Army is based on a wide array of primary and secondary sources, including Patton’s own writings and military records. Readers interested in World War II history, and Patton specifically, will enjoy.
PREMIUM

50 Years of Ms.: The Best of the Pathfinding Magazine That Ignited a Revolution

A chorus of voices brings to life the writings, reflections, and history of a groundbreaking magazine. Pair with Stuff Mom Never Told You by Anney Reese and Samantha McVey.
PREMIUM

All the Presidents’ Gardens: Madison’s Cabbages to Kennedy’s Roses—How the White House Grounds Have Grown with America

A lighthearted survey of the White House gardens, entertaining if occasionally insubstantial.

Four Shots in the Night: A True Story of Spies, Murder, and Justice in Northern Ireland

Readers interested in the Troubles will be intrigued by this dive into violence and secrecy surrounding the IRA.

History | Prepub Alert, October 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Sparta and the Commemoration of War

A unique interpretation of the second most popular Greek polis, but some of the utilized sources contradict each other.
PREMIUM

Searching for Billie: A Journalist’s Quest To Understand His Mother’s Past Leads Him To Discover a Vanished China

Readers interested in Chinese history, Asian and Western relations, especially pre-World War II and pre-Communist China will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

The Mysterious Case of Rudolf Diesel: Genius, Power, and Deception on the Eve of World War I

Brunt’s well-researched account should appeal to listeners interested in technology, engineering, and the social and political climate of the early 20th century.
PREMIUM

Escape from Camp 14: One Man’s Remarkable Odyssey from North Korea to Freedom in the West

Harden’s stunning account of Shin’s life reflects the courage and strength of one man who escaped brutal captivity in hopes of a better life.
PREMIUM

The Trials of Madame Restell: Nineteenth-Century America’s Most Infamous Female Physician and the Campaign To Make Abortion a Crime

A timely, well-researched account that provides historical insight into present-day debates about abortion and reproductive rights in the United States.
PREMIUM

A Travel Guide to the Middle Ages: The World Through Medieval Eyes

An informative and entertaining account of medieval travel that will be appreciated by readers of both popular history and travel stories. Those more interested in relics should consult Patrick J. Geary’s Furta Sacra.
PREMIUM

Forbidden Desire in Early Modern Europe: Male-Male Sexual Relations, 1400–1750

A significant contribution to the debate on the making of modern sexualities and an essential read for historians and serious students of premodern European history. Both general readers and scholars will undoubtedly come away with new insights from this meticulously researched and argued book.
PREMIUM

Soviet Adventures in the Land of the Capitalists: Ilf and Petrov’s American Road Trip

This book traces the elisions and obfuscations in Ilf and Petrov’s story and the political and humorous motivations they may have had for doing so. Questions of politics, art, commerce, identity, and how Soviet citizens perceived themselves in relation to Americans make for a fascinating story. It’s somewhat academic, but this book is a must for readers interested in Soviet, American, or Jewish history and radical politics.

Skies of Thunder: The Deadly World War II Mission Over the Roof of the World

Readers interested in the China-Burma-India Theater of World War II and Asian history will enjoy Alexander’s detailed and beautifully written account.

Cracking the Nazi Code: The Untold Story of Agent A12 and the Solving of the Holocaust Code

An extraordinary story of one man’s efforts to stop the Nazi regime. Best for those who enjoy history, biography, and tales of espionage.
PREMIUM

Defining Documents in American History: Workers’ Rights

A distinctive collection of important primary papers with supporting text that provides historical context, relevance, and significance of those sources. Great for student reports.
PREMIUM

Exodus: The Shanghai Jews

A short but compelling docudrama that breathes life into the accounts of a too-little-discussed population of Holocaust survivors in Shanghai. Share with educators and general audiobook listeners seeking accounts of Jewish refugees or World War II history.
PREMIUM

Unruly: The Ridiculous History of England’s Kings and Queens

An absurdist history of English monarchs that entertains as it informs. Pair with Stephen Bates’s The Shortest History of the Crown.

Harry Truman’s Excellent Adventure: The True Story of a Great American Road Trip

Algeo’s thoroughly engaging account of a former president’s unique summer road trip is chock-full of fascinating details and interesting people. Highly recommended for those interested in Americana and social and political history.
PREMIUM

The Place We Make: Breaking the Legacy of Legalized Hate

Sanderson’s research-supported arguments and persuasive, well-paced narration make for a compelling listen. Though the audio may be of special interest to those supporting racial reparations, progressive Christians, and Oregonians, this story deserves to be heard far and wide.
PREMIUM

The Manuscripts Club: The People Behind a Thousand Years of Medieval Manuscripts

Libraries who purchased Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts should acquire this marvelous companion piece.
PREMIUM

Klan War: Ulysses S. Grant and the Battle To Save Reconstruction

This emotional deep dive into the Klan’s roots and how Grant tried to suppress their impact reinforces the notion that while the Civil War may have legally ended enslavement, Reconstruction did nothing to eliminate prejudice and discrimination.
PREMIUM

Black AF History: The Un-Whitewashed Story of America

A stimulating, deeply researched history that is simultaneously entertaining and heartbreaking. Harriot’s self-narrated work is an essential purchase for all audio history collections.
PREMIUM

The Cost of Free Land: Jews, Lakota, and an American Inheritance

Clarren lays bare the many wrongs inflicted on Indigenous peoples and suggests possible means of making reparations. An eye-opening book exploring the author’s family history against a troubling historical backdrop.
PREMIUM

God Save Benedict Arnold: The True Story of America’s Most Hated Man

A fascinating new look at this enigmatic American Revolution hero/traitor, delivered objectively.
PREMIUM

Sailing the Graveyard Sea: The Deathly Voyage of the Somers, the U.S. Navy’s Only Mutiny, and the Trial That Gripped the Nation

Recommended for fans of David Grann’s The Wager or Nathaniel Philbrick’s In the Heart of the Sea.
PREMIUM

The Burning of the World: The Great Chicago Fire and the War for a City’s Soul

Hopkins’s skillful performance of Berg’s meticulously researched narrative of the fire and its aftermath is a must-listen for anyone interested in American history and urban development.

History | Prepub Alert, September 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

I Will Tell No War Stories: What Our Fathers Left Unsaid About World War II

To readers’ benefit, the author comes to understand his father better, and he shares insights into air combatants’ experiences during World War II.
PREMIUM

A Nasty Little War: The Western Intervention into the Russian Civil War

A well-researched deep dive into military and political actions set against post–Russian Revolution.

Knights of Freedom: With the Hell on Wheels Armored Division in World War II; A Story in Photos

An excellent, moving depiction that captures the defining period of a soldier’s life. Strongly recommended.

The Trojan Horse and Other Stories: Ten Ancient Creatures That Make Us Human

Highly recommended for both disciples and skeptics of classics. It’s also perfect for fans of nonfiction by Natalie Haynes.
PREMIUM

How the Spanish Empire Was Built: A 400 Year History

An engaging new approach to understanding the spread of the Spanish empire. Highly recommended.

Have You Got Good Religion? Black Women’s Faith, Courage, and Moral Leadership in the Civil Rights Movement

From the life of Prathia Hall, an activist theologian who inspired Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech, to the story of Bree Newsome Bass, who climbed a flagpole to remove the Confederate flag at the South Carolina statehouse in 2015, less than two weeks after the murder of nine people in Charleston’s A.M.E. Church, this book delivers a powerful, passionate, and educational reading experience.

History | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Black Elders: The Meaning of Age in American Slavery and Freedom

A readily accessible read for all interested in the chronic, painful, physical, and mental battles that marked the daily lives of enslaved and emancipated Black people approaching the end of life, reckoning with their prospects, and reflecting on their mortality. This book centers elders, their roles, and day-to-day class and gender relations and demonstrates how Black communities cared for each other as they tried to maintain material and moral intergenerational bonds during and immediately after the era of enslavement.
PREMIUM

The Making of a King: King Charles III and the Modern Monarchy

This title delivers a quite informative and historic account of events from Queen Elizabeth’s passing to Charles’s first year as King. Royal fans will appreciate this work, but the book’s portrayals of Harry and Meghan may come across as unfair to some readers.
PREMIUM

Treaty Justice: The Northwest Tribes, the Boldt Decision, and the Recognition of Fishing Rights

Readers interested in the history of Indigenous peoples, the Pacific Northwest, and legal battles will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

No Bullet Got Me Yet: The Relentless Faith of Father Kapaun

Readers interested in military and Korean War history and faith-based stories will enjoy this book about a man whose simple yet profound piety influenced all who came in contact with him, regardless of their faith or background.

The Black Box: Writing the Race

A must for scholars, yet still accessible to general audiences, by arguably the preeminent scholar of African American studies. This gem brilliantly reflects multiple depictions of what it means to be a Black American amid complex, structured interracial and color-based discrimination discourses, in which writing and language are keys.
PREMIUM

Exploring American Jewish History Through 50 Historic Treasures

An intriguing, illustrated volume that showcases the link between Jewish artifacts and U.S. history.
PREMIUM

Saving Michelangelo’s Dome: How Three Mathematicians and a Pope Sparked an Architectural Revolution

An accessible book about the history of the dome that sparked an architectural revolution; recommended for general audiences.
PREMIUM

Power and Glory: Elizabeth II and the Rebirth of Royalty

Highly recommended for Larman’s fans and for readers seeking a royal history that is appropriately critical.
PREMIUM

Puerto Rico: A National History

Meléndez-Badillo does a good job of explaining Puerto Rico’s complicated history. An essential addition to most libraries, for general readers of all types.

Silent Cavalry: How Union Soldiers from Alabama Helped Sherman Burn Atlanta—and Then Got Written Out of History

This compellingly narrated contribution to U.S. Civil War historiography, made personal by Raines’s family history, is illuminating and thought-provoking. An important update to Margaret M. Storey’s Loyalty and Loss: Alabama’s Unionists in the Civil War and Reconstruction and an excellent addition to any audio history collection.
PREMIUM

The Unit: My Life Fighting Terrorists as One of America’s Most Secret Military Operatives

A quick, thought-provoking read that lays out both strengths and flaws of the U.S. military in equal measure. Fans of modern military history will find this title enjoyable.

Combee: Harriet Tubman, the Combahee River Raid, and Black Freedom During the Civil War

A scholarly and remarkable work about enslavement and Civil War history that makes an excellent choice for reading groups and libraries. Readers will gain a deeper understanding of that era’s times and experiences, and Fields-Black’s connection to one of the participants makes it a personal work as well.

History | Prepub Alert, July 2024 Titles

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?