Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Polar Vortex: A Family Memoir

Dorrance’s (It’s All About Mimi) gorgeous, plaintive story speaks to those caring for aging parents and realizing they must eventually prepare for their own exits. A lyrical read-alike for Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast.

PREMIUM

Nothing Special, Vol. One: Through the Elder Woods

Cook (My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic) offers a fine idyll through a fabulistic world that’s an appealing read for cozy fantasy fans.
PREMIUM

Dwellings

Readers who enjoyed Afterlife with Archie by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa or Octopus Girl by Toru Yamazaki will enjoy untangling the plots of these six cutesy yet highly disturbing stories.
PREMIUM

Godzilla: Here There Be Dragons

Author Tieri (Multiversity: Harley Quinn Screws Up the DCU) and illustrator Miranda (We Live: Coming of Age) spin a thrilling adventure featuring the world-renowned King of the Monsters.

Eden

Author Sebela (Crowded Vol. 1) and illustrator Laming (Star Wars: Doctor Aphra Omnibus) present a riveting science fiction thriller examining how hope can inspire heroism, or become an excuse for monstrousness, in the face of desperation.

Firebugs

A tender, probing exploration of queer identity in a world seemingly on the verge of collapse, brought to life with warmth and grace by Bulling’s (Cutes: Collected Queer and Trans Comics) exceptionally fluid, emotionally evocative linework.

What We Mean by Yesterday: Vol. 1

Marra employs a loose, somewhat sketchy cartooning style that’s perfectly matched to his fast-paced, seemingly intuitive plotting. An occasionally shocking, sometimes nightmarish, completely unpredictable satire of modern masculinity.
PREMIUM

Army of One, Vol. 1

Despite an overabundance of exposition and worldbuilding, this is an intriguing initial offering from Lee (Hope Falls) in an ongoing sci-fi adventure, starring a charismatic queer teenager.
PREMIUM

Void Rivals, Vol. 1

Kirkman (Firepower) and illustrators De Felici (Oblivion Song Compendium) and Lopes craft a fantastic space opera centered on a fascinatingly complex pair of protagonists.

Iris: A Novel for Viewers

Tjong-Khing draws on psychedelic and pop art influences, using exaggerated figures, flamboyant gestures, and vivid color to evoke an uncanny sense of movement and unbridled emotion in this fascinatingly surreal dystopian science fiction pop fantasia.
PREMIUM

The Metabarons: Second Cycle Finale

Not a particularly great starting point for new readers, but so packed with magnificent action and trippy notions about human nature that even the uninitiated are likely to find something to enjoy in this operatic science fiction epic.
PREMIUM

Portrait of a Body

Moody, elegant, slow, and serious, Delporte’s self-portrait feels defined in great part by its beautiful, formidable frame.
PREMIUM

I Feel Awful, Thanks

Written from the heart and personal experience, Pickle’s debut is a compelling effort to help young adults feel seen through an imaginative delve into familiar psychological challenges.
PREMIUM

Gaytheist: Coming Out of My Orthodox Childhood

Excellent for readers seeking to understand challenges facing devout LGBTQIA+ people and for religious queer individuals themselves.
PREMIUM

Red Harvest: A Graphic Novel of the Terror Famine in Soviet Ukraine

A demanding historical narrative with a profound, ever-relevant vision of the human capacity for both cruelty and cultural persistence.
PREMIUM

Won’t Back Down

A visually and thematically varied pro-choice anthology with many thoughtful entries.

Taking Turns: Stories from HIV/AIDS Care Unit 371

Czerwiec’s wrenching, inspiring story addresses how people should be treated by the medical system and challenges them to treat all patients as in Unit 371. Highly recommended.

Invisible Wounds: Graphic Journalism

These dozen dramatized interviews speak for the uncountable war veterans throughout history who died with their PTSD, guilt, and pain undiagnosed and misunderstood. Highly recommended for readers willing to brave the wars inside veterans and thus better understand the wars outside them.
PREMIUM

Down to the Bone: A Leukemia Story

An inventive introduction to what to expect for someone seriously ill with leukemia and for medical professionals needing insight into their patients’ points of view. Also, a sobering readalike for Marisa Acocella Marchetto’s Cancer Vixen, in which the author survives.

What’s Wrong? Personal Histories of Chronic Pain and Bad Medicine

The raw accounts of these five tormented women reveal a disturbingly ineffective health system. Vital for health collections in public and university libraries.

PREMIUM

Everything Is OK

Those stuck in a destructive feedback loop of self-punishment will recognize themselves in Tung’s account and pick up ideas for exiting the downward spiral, perhaps deciding to trust a therapist to help them. Helpful for young adults as well as their elders.

Majnun and Layla: Songs from Beyond the Grave

For lovers of storytelling and lovers writ large, this is a masterful, unforgettable introduction to an essential romantic text.
PREMIUM

Nervosa

Challenging in its detail and honesty, this will draw sympathy from readers who recognize similarities to their own struggles, and it may spur readers to really see other people, not just encounter them superficially.
PREMIUM

Going Remote: A Teacher’s Story

A sobering and educational meditation on how medical and educational worlds both benefit and suffer from technological interventions.
PREMIUM

Memento Mori

Takalo’s wrenching account lays bare the difficulties of surviving an imperfect life even when things go well. A bittersweet guide to happiness for readers captivated by personal journeys.

I’m a Terminal Cancer Patient, But I’m Fine

Hilnama’s realistic details and encouragement would help any cancer patient prepare for the worst but work towards the best as well. A must-buy for most libraries.
PREMIUM

A Chance: Complete Edition

Inspiring and informative for would-be parents and for those who enjoy stories about real-life, complicated families.
PREMIUM

Ephemera: A Memoir

Mournful but somehow deeply soothing, Loewinsohn’s graphic memories conjure a human’s strength to perpetuate and reshape a bond, drawing creatively from only recollections and imaginings. This debut is a potent inspiration for readers yearning to reach toward important people of their own, now forever absent.
PREMIUM

COVID Chronicles: A Comics Anthology

Capturing the zeitgeist of 2020, this anthology documents the suffering people behind the statistics: so many voices, so much death. Important for historical and medical collections, for education about crisis management, and also peerlessly entertaining.

Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos

Knisley’s painful yet often funny chronicle, spotlights difficult realities of childbearing that most women aren’t told about. Excellent background for prospective parents, their friends and relatives, and clinical professionals.
PREMIUM

Work-Life Balance

An inventive take on workplace barriers to mental health, the failure of safety nets, and the resilience of those relying on them.

The Body Factory: From the First Prosthetics to the Augmented Human

Gruesome yet puckish, this summary conveys fascinating details of amputation, tourniquets, the phantom limb phenomenon, and prosthetics design. It makes a fine choice for adult and teen collections and for science curricula.
PREMIUM

Hummingbird Heart

A moving and entertaining reality check that will resonate with readers considering their own turning points.

Ronan and the Endless Sea of Stars: A Graphic Memoir

Ronan’s lyrical, tragic story tells how death ends a life, not a relationship, and how forlorn lovers can savor their joy about those they love even while mourning their loss. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Sensory: Life on the Spectrum; An Autistic Comics Anthology

Ollerton’s engaging collection makes a wide-ranging and emotionally rich introduction to the circumstances of people with autism. Useful for high schoolers as well as adults.
PREMIUM

Ripple Effects

An insightful presentation of the daily challenges and tradeoffs of living with an invisible, dangerous, and incurable illness. Educational and compelling for those with these illnesses and others who undoubtedly know but don’t recognize these individuals.

Big Game

Millar’s skill for conveying characterization and exposition through action and Larraz’s (X-Men: Hellfire Gala 2023) fluidly dynamic illustration make this an action-packed, breathtakingly paced, and surprisingly accessible superhero epic.
PREMIUM

Watson and Holmes: A Scandal in Harlem

While some entries emphasize action sequences so heavily that the characters seem connected to the source material in name only, the majority are refreshingly contemporary updates of the intricate plotting and character dynamics present in Doyle’s original stories.
PREMIUM

Quentin Tarantino: A Graphic Biography

Botton’s deeply insightful script and knack for composing dialogue attuned to Tarantino’s distinctive rhythm and intensity make this an essential volume for fans of the filmmaker, as well as anyone interested in modern American cinema.
PREMIUM

Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser Omnibus

Fans of sword and sorcery fantasy will find much to embrace within this hefty omnibus.

Blessed Be

A razor-sharp satire of conservative values, bohemian ideals, outlaw culture, capitalism, and more, from a creator evincing a powerful, if idiosyncratic, vision of modern American life.

Tokyo These Days, Vol. 1

Matsumoto (Cats of the Louvre) offers a provocative meditation on the struggle to maintain artistic integrity while creating art for mass-market consumption.
PREMIUM

Four Gathered on Christmas Eve

An essential horror anthology from an all-star lineup of creators.

Grendel: Devil by the Deed Master’s Edition

A well-crafted saga exploring the nature of evil, drawn from elements of the crime, horror, and science fiction genres. A perfect starting point for newcomers, while longtime Grendel readers should be thrilled at how Wagner has reinvigorated what was already considered a classic story.

Impossible People: A Completely Average Recovery Story

Wertz’s immersive and sometimes very funny tale hardly fits the “completely average” subtitle, yet nearly everyone can see themselves somewhere in her story, cheer her on, and enjoy the surprise ending.
PREMIUM

Us

This charming, even humorous chronicle of a journey fraught with immense complications will be welcomed by romance lovers as well as those looking for information about trans matters. An empathic adventure for teens and adults.
PREMIUM

I Am Only a Foreigner Because You Do Not Understand

This poignant meditation on a body that seems difficult to understand or love, but all too easily exploited, challenges readers to contemplate the complexity of human selves, including their own.

Transitions: A Mother’s Journey

Anne’s family and acquaintances model a range of responses to a trans relative’s coming out, illustrating common difficulties while showing that acceptance and joy become possible with care and diligence. An excellent graphic novel and resource for families and others who experience the unexpected transition of a loved one.
PREMIUM

Dog’s Breakfast

A must-have for Invincible Summer fans looking to fill in missing installments. A supplementary purchase for libraries where zines and memoir-style graphic novels circulate well.

How To Completely Lose Your Mind: A Graphic Novel Memoir of One Indie Band’s Attempt To Break a World Record

With humor and humility, Jancewicz and Stevenson (creators of the webcomic The Touring Test) share their tale of pursuing a world record via music venues across the 50 states. It’s also sprinkled with tips on packing light for road tripping and how to be a better audience member; young adults and veterans of the indie music scene will find something to love.
PREMIUM

Light It, Shoot It!

Illustrated in gorgeous black-and-white brushstrokes and moodily evocative painted washes, this twisty thrill ride through old Hollywood features a large cast of complex and often surprisingly nuanced characters.

Where the Body Was

A fast-paced mystery, propelled by a fascinating cast of characters, that builds to a profoundly moving and deeply romantic climax. Absolutely not to be missed.
PREMIUM

All Eight Eyes

Foxe’s (Dark X-Men) scripting emphasizes thrills and chills over exposition without shortchanging character development in this exhilaratingly pulpy horror thriller.

Poor Helpless Comics!: The Cartoons (and More) of Ed Subitzky

Subitzky’s uninhibited imagination and penchant for absurd humor create a thrillingly revelatory collection, with contributions by cartoonist Mark Newgarden.
PREMIUM

Worm: A Cuban American Odyssey

A passionate firsthand account of historical events and a compelling coming-of-age tale in one.
PREMIUM

Werewolf at Dusk and Other Stories

Small’s fluid linework and exceptional visual storytelling result in a compelling, deeply affecting collection.

Time Under Tension

Harkness delivers one of the best releases of 2023 in this exhilarating, heartbreaking, and often humorous memoir. Add it to the collection right away.

Inside the Mind of Sherlock Holmes

This totally unique depiction of Sherlock Holmes and Watson is likely to be embraced by fans of Arthur Conan Doyle’s original stories and also by those who enjoy abstract or experimental comic art.
PREMIUM

The Incredible Hulk: Worldbreaker, Hero, Icon

Hulk’s appearance in the Avengers movies and his stand-alone popularity make this an appealing choice.

The Talk

Bell’s powerful story of his life and commentary on racism are made even more impactful by his poignant illustrations.
PREMIUM

Prince in Comics!

Prince fans won’t learn anything new, but they’ll treasure the reminders of how the genius operated. Others will appreciate the art and lessons about the legend.

Artificial: A Love Story

Kurzweil’s highly recommended memoir is unlike any other. It will leave readers with much to contemplate.
PREMIUM

Liberated: The Radical Art and Life of Claude Cahun

Rowe’s biography portrays a triumph of queer and Jewish resistance in the face of fascism and stands as a tribute to the love that surrounded the lives of Cahun and Moore, not just for each other but for humanity.

Box of Bones: Book Two

The beauty revealed in the conclusion changes the game, forcing characters and readers to rethink woman power. Jama-Everett’s evocative, open-ended finale suits the saga far better than a neat wrap-up. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Decodependence: A Romantic Tragicomic

Those looking to better understand codependent behavior will benefit from Ash’s story and enjoy wry chuckles along the way.
PREMIUM

Whisper of the Woods

A chilling treat for the ravenous reader.
PREMIUM

Don’t Spit in the Wind

Delightfully sinister and gleefully borrowing from its apocalyptic forbears, this is a fatalistic fever dream.

Where Monsters Lie

A high-concept blast of mirth and mayhem that will leave readers desperate for a sequel.
PREMIUM

Blue Book, Vol. 1: 1961

Tynion’s (The Nice House on the Lake) debut volume of a promised ongoing series of nonfiction “True Weird” stories provides a thrilling account of the Hills’ experience and a heartbreaking evocation of the price they paid for sharing their story over the rest of their lives. This edition collects material previously released online.

Earthdivers, Vol. 1: Kill Columbus

A compellingly immersive character-driven science-fiction spectacle.

Monica

Clowes’s formal ingenuity, meticulous attention to psychological and visual detail, and masterful sense of narrative and tone combine to create an emotionally resonant and unforgettable opus, reaffirming his place among the greatest storytellers of our time.
PREMIUM

Moonray: Mother’s Skin

While some science-fiction and fantasy fans might be frustrated by Graham’s (Rain Like Hammers) seemingly improvisational plotting and emphasis on worldbuilding over propulsive forward progress, fans of the more experimental fringes of either genre are likely to embrace this fascinatingly surreal, richly imagined cosmic odyssey.
PREMIUM

Immortal Sergeant

Kelly’s fast-paced script balances racy humor and a profound exploration of a father and son coming to terms with one another, while Niimura’s deceptively loose illustration interweaves a variety of influences to create a terrifically kinetic sense of movement through a world steeped in a distinctively noir atmosphere.

Social Fiction

Montellier emerges as a true visionary of the graphic-novel medium and the science-fiction genre in these captivating tales of human beings struggling to retain their dignity under repressive regimes.
PREMIUM

Mother Nature

An awkwardly overstuffed plotline is enlivened, if not quite redeemed, by the author’s obvious passion for the subject matter and Stevens’s gorgeous photorealistic watercolor illustration.
PREMIUM

Mingus

For Mingus fans especially, and those who know the legend and the stories. People who are less familiar with the complicated jazz master will want to delve into the works mentioned in the discography, bibliography, and videography provided by Massarutto.
PREMIUM

Mariko Between Worlds

Recommended for mature teens and adults, this title captures the rush of youth, where nights out have no repercussions and hangovers are tomorrow’s problem.
PREMIUM

Boys Weekend

Horror fans are in for a chaotic yet satisfying ride.
PREMIUM

Where Is Anne Frank

A potentially compelling thought exercise, far from fully realized.

The Naked Tree

A murmured wartime memory that speaks volumes about the difficult depths of the solitary human condition.
PREMIUM

The Out Side: Trans & Nonbinary Comics

With the book’s sheer breadth of unflinching life experiences lovingly depicted within, appealing illustrations and candy-colored cover, and ample servings of humor, hope, and wit, it’s hard to imagine a public library collection that wouldn’t benefit from its inclusion.
PREMIUM

But You Have Friends

Staid but kind, this first graphic memoir from McKenzie, who also writes comics as Emix Regulus, celebrates and mourns a meaningful friendship with quiet narrative confidence.
PREMIUM

Stamped from the Beginning: A Graphic History of Racist Ideas in America

A welcome, educational addition to social justice collections.
PREMIUM

The Ruling Clawss: The Socialist Cartoons of Syd Hoff

A smart purchase where New Yorker cartoons are popular, as these put a new spin on the bourgeois genre.
PREMIUM

Okinawa

Exhaustive and emotional, this is an intense labor of love by its creator and will likely prove fascinating and enlightening to the committed reader as well.

I Must Be Dreaming

Truly fascinating, frequently hilarious, and not to be missed.
PREMIUM

The Man in the McIntosh Suit

Ayuyang (Blame This on the Boogie) presents a gripping and romantic Depression-era noir about a fledgling community struggling to achieve the American dream without sacrificing who they are.

I Am Stan: A Graphic Biography of the Legendary Stan Lee

Scioli has created the most compelling and layered portrait of Lee to date. A brilliant achievement.

Roaming

An elegantly illustrated, immersive tale that isn’t so much about discovering yourself as it is about embracing who you have been and may one day be.
PREMIUM

Funny Things: A Comic Strip Biography of Charles M. Schulz

An insightful and affectionate biography of an iconic American artist.

Parasocial

A provocative and harrowing thriller with a distinct and passionately expressed perspective on the modern world.
PREMIUM

The Second Fake Death of Eddie Campbell & The Fate of the Artist

Campbell merges memoir and hardboiled mystery to create a fascinating and revealing portrait of how world events impact an individual’s sense of self and creative drive.

Cosmic Detective

An outstandingly inventive and thrilling cosmic noir.
PREMIUM

Queen in Comics

Queen fans, megafans, and curious newbies will clap and sing along to this colorful, kaleidoscopic graphic novel.
PREMIUM

Darkly She Goes

In this fantasy tale, Mallié (Arsène Lupine, Gentleman Thief) and Hubert (Beauty) create an ethereal, shadow-strewn world where cruel pasts corrupt the present.
PREMIUM

Daughters of Snow and Cinders

Award-winning Spanish cartoonist and illustrator Tamarit (Dos Monedas) makes her English-language debut with this fantasy adventure, in which she creates a haunting landscape of rich textures that weave a dark fable set in the time of the American gold rush.

Where I’m Coming From

Although this nationally syndicated comic strip was written 30 years ago, the stories and societal critiques are still applicable today. Readers will likely embrace being part of this sisterhood of outspoken friends.

Mister Mammoth

Kindt (Mind MGMT: Bootleg) and illustrator Pendanx (A Fake Story) present an engrossing existential noir with a finale as shocking as it is genuinely affecting.
PREMIUM

The Color of Always: An LGBTQIA+ Love Anthology

An eclectic collection of deeply felt and frequently uplifting stories from across the spectrum of human experience.
PREMIUM

Murky World

Corben’s (Shadows on the Grave) surreal imagination and highly detailed, stunningly textured illustration have earned him a place among the most highly acclaimed and influential creators of graphic novels and commercial art of the past five decades. This volume collects material originally serialized across various monthly publications in the years before his death in 2020.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?