Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

American Shield: The Immigrant Sergeant Who Defended Democracy

While there are other USCP accounts of the insurrection, this one stands apart, given Gonell’s immigrant beginnings and patriotic pride in his adopted country.

Better Living Through Birding: Notes from a Black Man in the Natural World

This brilliant multidimensional nonfiction debut by Cooper, now the host of National Geographic’s Extraordinary Birder, should be cherished by all memoir fans and will strike a chord with his fellow sci-fi and comics fans.
PREMIUM

If You Would Have Told Me: A Memoir

Stamos shares the shiny and not-so-shiny memories of his past, reflecting on the importance of experiencing the good times and the bad. An excellent choice for those who enjoy memoirs and pop culture or are avid John Stamos fans.

Behind the Seams: My Life in Rhinestones

Part memoir, part fashion manifesto, part archive, this engaging audio bursts with humor, confidence, and candor. The production deserves all the rhinestone stars it will earn.
PREMIUM

Omega Farm: A Memoir

For those ready to reflect on the pandemic and not opposed to a jumping timeline, this deeply personal story resonates.
PREMIUM

Doppelganger: A Trip into the Mirror World

Listeners interested in politics or social media should appreciate Klein’s nuanced look at how people of all political ideologies can follow the online trail of alternative facts into the Mirror World.

The Jolliest Bunch: Unhinged Holiday Stories

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a collection of funny, festive family stories full of 1990s nostalgia and heartwarming holiday hijinks. Recommended for fans of arts and entertainment autobiographers, such as Leslie Jordan and Randy Rainbow.

Great Falls, MT: Fast Times, Post-Punk Weirdos, and a Tale of Coming Home Again

Part memoir, part performance, part comedy riff, this vibrant audiobook is not to be missed.

In the Form of a Question: The Joys and Rewards of a Curious Life

Schneider is not only curious; she is also interesting. Fans of her meteoric run on Jeopardy will enjoy this debut memoir, which provides food for thought for anyone curious about all the trivia of life.

The Woman in Me

Though Spears’s words are affecting on their own, narrator Williams’s gentle Southern drawl and slight vocal fry make this gripping memoir an unputdownable must-listen.
PREMIUM

Making It So: A Memoir

Recommended for fans of Carrie Fisher’s memoirs or Dave Grohl’s The Storyteller.
PREMIUM

More: A Memoir of Open Marriage

Winter’s conversational tone allows listeners to empathize with her as she stumbles through her marriage’s new dynamic and develops self-care techniques. Give to listeners who are curious about ethical non-monogamy as well as listeners who enjoy candid memoirs.
PREMIUM

Class: A Memoir of Motherhood, Hunger, and Higher Education

This deeply touching memoir sheds light on the seemingly insurmountable challenges encountered by impoverished people seeking better lives for themselves and their families. Fans of Maid and the Netflix series inspired by the book will want to listen to this.
PREMIUM

Karma: My Autobiography

The lackluster narration and sparse insights make this audio a necessary purchase only for dedicated fans.
PREMIUM

I Quit Everything: How One Woman’s Addiction to Quitting Helped Her Confront Bad Habits and Embrace Midlife

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a candid autobiographical analysis of the ease with which one becomes addicted to both substances and behaviors. Recommended for fans of Sarah Levy and Holly Whitaker.

The Upcycled Self: A Memoir on the Art of Becoming Who We Are

A portrait of an artist’s evolution that should resonate with hip-hop lovers and Roots fans alike. It’s short and will leave listeners wanting more.
PREMIUM

Dancing on the Edge: A Journey of Living, Loving, and Tumbling Through Hollywood

With his role in the Twin Peaks reboot and his numerous dance numbers finding new life online, Tamblyn, his engaging memoir, and his stories will be of high interest.
PREMIUM

My Vietnam, Your Vietnam: A Father Flees, a Daughter Returns; A Dual Memoir

A father-daughter memoir that highlights the complex nature of memory and perspective. Recommended for readers interested in personal narratives of connection.

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Here After: A Memoir

A poignant book. The author explores grief in its unshakable, impossibly enduring rawness.

I’ll Just Be Five More Minutes: And Other Tales from My ADHD Brain

A must for collections.
PREMIUM

Boxing the Compass: A Life of Seafaring, Music, and Pilgrimage

This title clearly showcases a life lived on the author’s own terms.
PREMIUM

Inconceivable: Super Sperm Donors, Off-the-Grid Insemination, and Unconventional Family Planning

This book reveals a little-known aspect of one route to becoming a parent. For health sciences consumer health collections.

Polar Vortex: A Family Memoir

Dorrance’s (It’s All About Mimi) gorgeous, plaintive story speaks to those caring for aging parents and realizing they must eventually prepare for their own exits. A lyrical read-alike for Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast.

Bones Worth Breaking: A Memoir

This memoir is a poignant portrait of the love between two brothers and a shared life, with descriptions of traumatic experiences and the resulting scars. The relevance of the book’s themes and topics, alongside Martinez’s openness and exceptional writing skill, will undoubtedly connect with many readers.

The Wives: A Memoir

A fearless, engaging, and important memoir about how one person’s decision to serve in the military affects their entire family. Readers will learn the true meaning of military service through the wider lens of its impact on families and communities.
PREMIUM

The Sky Was Falling: A Young Surgeon’s Story of Bravery, Survival, and Hope

A recommended purchase. This debut author’s writing style and fast-paced story will appeal to readers interested in a behind-the-scenes look at hospital operations and personnel during the COVID pandemic.
PREMIUM

Broken: Transforming Child Protective Services—Notes of a Former Caseworker

Parents and child-welfare professionals will benefit from this excellent work that gives an insider’s view of child protective services. Pair with We Were Once a Family by Roxanna Asgarian.
PREMIUM

The Translator’s Daughter: A Memoir

A compelling and poignant story that sheds light on Taiwanese culture and recent history. Essential for readers interested in Taiwan in specific or immigration memoirs in general. Will also appeal to fans of Two Trees Make a Forest by Jessica J. Lee.

The Notebooks of Sonny Rollins

Illuminating diary entries by a jazz legend; highly recommended reading for fans, musicians, and general audiences.
PREMIUM

Tuned In: Memoirs of a Piano Man

This vicarious adventure and engaging memoir teaches that learning a marketable trade, in this case piano tuning, can be a useful underpinning for seeking goals that seem out of reach. Includes insightful anecdotes about music stars.
PREMIUM

They Called Us Exceptional: And Other Lies That Raised Us

This candid and compassionate account reveals the cost of impossible expectations and the courage necessary to find oneself. For fans of Qian Julie Wang’s Beautiful Country or Safiya Sinclair’s How To Say Babylon.

Motherland: A Memoir

This expressively narrated account of a country in crisis balances detailed research and political insight with snippets of daily life. A must-listen that pairs well with Raúl Gallegos’s Crude Nation and Rory Carroll’s Comandante.

My Name Is Barbra

A spectacular and heartfelt memoir, written with invigorating passion and read with endearing humor.

Talking to My Angels

Longtime Etheridge fans and those new to her work will be blown away by her music and grace-filled, courageous personal narrative.

Some People Need Killing: A Memoir of Murder in My Country

A brave and heartbreaking work that fleshes out the human cost of Duterte’s violent rule.
PREMIUM

The Unit: My Life Fighting Terrorists as One of America’s Most Secret Military Operatives

A quick, thought-provoking read that lays out both strengths and flaws of the U.S. military in equal measure. Fans of modern military history will find this title enjoyable.
PREMIUM

Portrait of a Body

Moody, elegant, slow, and serious, Delporte’s self-portrait feels defined in great part by its beautiful, formidable frame.
PREMIUM

Dancing the Afrofuture: Hula, Hip-Hop, and the Dunham Legacy

Part self-reflection and part love song to Dunham, this book is a triumphant look at a dancer’s second act as a scholar.
PREMIUM

I Saw Them Standing There: Adventures of an Original Fan During Beatlemania and Beyond

A fun and intimate way to experience the height of Beatlemania.
PREMIUM

Hits, Flops, and Other Illusions: My Fortysomething Years in Hollywood

A frank, entertaining insider look at the film industry from the perspective of an Oscar- and Emmy-winning director.
PREMIUM

My Effin’ Life

Lee makes a true personal connection with readers in this compulsively readable memoir.

Being Henry: The Fonz…and Beyond

An engaging and endearing memoir by a genuine Hollywood treasure whose work spans generations.

Life on Other Planets: A Memoir of Finding My Place in the Universe

This lyrical, beautifully performed memoir from a Black woman scientist should inspire listeners to look to the sky and also recommend this outstanding title to young women they know who are interested in STEM fields.
PREMIUM

The Witching Year: A Memoir of Earnest Fumbling Through Modern Witchcraft

A sincere and unaffected memoir that should appeal to listeners interested in Wiccan beliefs and personal growth stories.

Land of My Sojourn: The Landscape of a Faith Lost and Found

Essential reading for Christians who have lost hope.
PREMIUM

Finding a Likeness: How I Got Somewhat Better at Art

A fun chronicle of a writer’s attempt to get better at visual art, which will likely inspire readers to give it a go as well.
PREMIUM

What Have We Here?: Portraits of a Life

A juicy memoir from a legendary actor. Celebrity watchers will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Secrets of the Sun: A Memoir

Moving and beautifully written. This poignant memoir is about a daughter’s hunt for answers and understanding about her father, his battles, and the complexities of their relationship.

Dear Sister: A Memoir of Secrets, Survival, and Unbreakable Bonds

An essential purchase. Through countless extensions of jail time without a bail hearing, changes in attorneys, depositions, and heartbreaking jail visits, this strong narrative points to the realities of the United States’ criminal justice system and how it can fail the most vulnerable.
PREMIUM

My Side of the River: A Memoir

Perfect for readers who want to learn more about how the U.S immigration system affects the families its laws separate. Also a great pick for fans of memoirs about people who overcome the odds against them.
PREMIUM

Dear Mom and Dad: A Letter About Family, Memory, and the America We Once Knew

This book about Davis’s relationship with her parents, Ronald and Nancy Reagan, unpacks a lot. Her eloquent writing and reassessment of her family bonds will keep readers intrigued.

Collection Development | Memoirs

Muse: Cicely Tyson and Me; A Relationship Forged in Fashion

Filled with stunning photos and original sketches, this is a breathtaking love letter to Tyson, to couture, and to a powerful collaboration. Fashionistas and fans of either Michael or Tyson will be mesmerized.

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, June 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

One in a Millennial: On Friendship, Feelings, Fangirls, and Fitting In

Millennial patrons will love this title, but so will pop culture followers and fans of nostalgia and humor.
PREMIUM

Splinters: Another Kind of Love Story

A literary memoir filled with humor, which alone is worth reading the book. This title offers insight and a look into the messy, magical drudgery of life, along with the beauty of art, love, and sex that often carry people through.

Best Memoir & Biography of 2023

My Name Is Barbra

This lengthy but invigorating, passionate, and reflective memoir will be in great demand for decades.
PREMIUM

Jimi and Me: The Experience of a Lifetime

Best for true music enthusiasts or historians.

Taking Turns: Stories from HIV/AIDS Care Unit 371

Czerwiec’s wrenching, inspiring story addresses how people should be treated by the medical system and challenges them to treat all patients as in Unit 371. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Down to the Bone: A Leukemia Story

An inventive introduction to what to expect for someone seriously ill with leukemia and for medical professionals needing insight into their patients’ points of view. Also, a sobering readalike for Marisa Acocella Marchetto’s Cancer Vixen, in which the author survives.
PREMIUM

Everything Is OK

Those stuck in a destructive feedback loop of self-punishment will recognize themselves in Tung’s account and pick up ideas for exiting the downward spiral, perhaps deciding to trust a therapist to help them. Helpful for young adults as well as their elders.
PREMIUM

Nervosa

Challenging in its detail and honesty, this will draw sympathy from readers who recognize similarities to their own struggles, and it may spur readers to really see other people, not just encounter them superficially.
PREMIUM

Going Remote: A Teacher’s Story

A sobering and educational meditation on how medical and educational worlds both benefit and suffer from technological interventions.
PREMIUM

Memento Mori

Takalo’s wrenching account lays bare the difficulties of surviving an imperfect life even when things go well. A bittersweet guide to happiness for readers captivated by personal journeys.

I’m a Terminal Cancer Patient, But I’m Fine

Hilnama’s realistic details and encouragement would help any cancer patient prepare for the worst but work towards the best as well. A must-buy for most libraries.
PREMIUM

A Chance: Complete Edition

Inspiring and informative for would-be parents and for those who enjoy stories about real-life, complicated families.
PREMIUM

Ephemera: A Memoir

Mournful but somehow deeply soothing, Loewinsohn’s graphic memories conjure a human’s strength to perpetuate and reshape a bond, drawing creatively from only recollections and imaginings. This debut is a potent inspiration for readers yearning to reach toward important people of their own, now forever absent.

Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos

Knisley’s painful yet often funny chronicle, spotlights difficult realities of childbearing that most women aren’t told about. Excellent background for prospective parents, their friends and relatives, and clinical professionals.
PREMIUM

Hummingbird Heart

A moving and entertaining reality check that will resonate with readers considering their own turning points.

Ronan and the Endless Sea of Stars: A Graphic Memoir

Ronan’s lyrical, tragic story tells how death ends a life, not a relationship, and how forlorn lovers can savor their joy about those they love even while mourning their loss. Highly recommended.

Leg: The Story of a Limb and the Boy Who Grew from It

With remarkable storytelling, heartfelt narration, and a powerful message, listeners will delight in stories of Marshall’s awkward teen years and sorrow as he describes moments of loss and grief. A perfect blend of heartwarming, hilarious, and horrendous, this memoir is unforgettable and highly recommended for all collections.
PREMIUM

Fingers Crossed: How Music Saved Me from Success

A must-read rock memoir in a genre where too few women’s voices are heard.
PREMIUM

I Sing To Use the Waiting: A Collection of Essays About the Women Singers Who’ve Made Me Who I Am

Readers who enjoyed Jessica Hopper’s The First Collection of Criticism by a Living Female Rock Critic and Hanif Abdurraqib’s They Can’t Kill Us Until They Kill Us are the perfect audience for this book.
PREMIUM

Confessions of a Rock ’n’ Roll Name Dropper

Fans of the Beatles and 1970s rock will appreciate this insider perspective of Lennon’s final day and the music business.

Everything I Learned, I Learned in a Chinese Restaurant: A Memoir

This strong memoir about intersectionality and acceptance will be at home in any library.
PREMIUM

End of the Hour: A Therapist’s Memoir

An inspiring audio that helps remove some of the stigma associated with mental health care. Listeners will empathize with Jarvis’s struggle to heal and might see themselves or their loved ones in her narrative.
PREMIUM

Women We Buried, Women We Burned: A Memoir

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a candid coming-of-age story of survival and self-discovery. Recommended for fans of moving memoirs about religion, resilience, and relationships, such as Michelle Dowd’s Forager: Field Notes for Surviving a Family Cult and Lisa Nikolidakis’s No One Crosses the Wolf.

Congratulations, the Best Is Over!: Essays

The multi-talented Thomas will appeal to listeners who like excellently narrated personal stories with deep feelings sprinkled with joy and humor. This delightful collection is highly recommended for all audio memoir collections.
PREMIUM

The Rooster House: My Ukrainian Family Story

A timely audio, highly recommended for those wanting to learn more about Ukraine’s tumultuous history and resilient culture.
PREMIUM

End Credits: How I Broke Up with Hollywood

Listeners will love how Lin doesn’t stick to the script in this engaging insider’s look into the big business of the small screen.
PREMIUM

Pulling the Chariot of the Sun: A Memoir of a Kidnapping

McCrae has created a nonlinear and intricate patchwork, stitching together the forgetting and remembering wrought by childhood trauma. This poetic meditation on family and history should appeal to readers of Harrison Mooney’s Invisible Boy and Natasha Trethewey’s Memorial Drive.

Sure, I’ll Join Your Cult: A Memoir of Mental Illness and the Quest To Belong Anywhere

Not only a must for Bamford enthusiasts but an inspired pick for mental-health memoir fans.

Defiant Dreams: The Journey of an Afghan Girl Who Risked Everything for Education

This genuinely transformative memoir from a woman who survived the Taliban regime and is now working as a computer scientist in the U.S. vividly demonstrates the power of education, especially for women. Young adults, college students, and listeners wanting to learn more about Afghanistan should find this unforgettable.
PREMIUM

Strip Tees: A Memoir of Millennial Los Angeles

Flannery relives the nostalgia of early aughts Los Angeles with her revealing memoir. This disturbing look at the inner workings of American Apparel intrigues, though listeners shouldn’t expect a tidy conclusion.
PREMIUM

Shy: The Alarmingly Outspoken Memoirs of Mary Rodgers

For musical theater enthusiasts, historians, and those interested in the Rodgers family legacy. Share, too, with fans of Baranski’s work.
PREMIUM

Nobody Needs To Know: A Memoir

Pagonis’s memoir is an intimate look into their life being intersex, offering readers a glimpse into their triumphs, struggles, and journey toward self-acceptance. A raw, can’t-stop-istening experience.
PREMIUM

Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City: A Memoir

A uniquely told story full of vibrant characters and heart-wrenching emotion, this is a surefire recommendation for any library where memoirs and poetry circulate well.
PREMIUM

Hell If We Don’t Change Our Ways: A Memoir

A heartbreaking yet uplifting memoir of a woman recovering from past wounds and embracing healing and hope. For readers of Jeannette Walls’s The Glass Castle.

Unearthing: A Story of Tangled Love and Family Secrets

A heartfelt memoir of a woman trying to better understand her parentage and herself. It is a must-have for all biography collections.

How To Say Babylon: A Memoir

This book is an audible joy and will have wide appeal to memoir readers.
PREMIUM

The Young Man

Although this audio is brief, listeners will be riveted by Ernaux’s exquisite insight and heartfelt memories of a precious year in her life. This latest addition to Ernaux’s oeuvre is a must-purchase for all nonfiction audio collections.
PREMIUM

Foolish: Tales of Assimilation, Determination, and Humiliation

Cooper’s strength as a performer makes this audiobook an enjoyable listen. Recommended for libraries where interest in celebrity memoirs is high.

Misfit: Growing Up Awkward in the ’80s

Gulman’s profession as a performer translates into an excellent audiobook. This is unmissable and highly recommended for all audio memoir collections.
PREMIUM

Finding Waypoints: A Warrior’s Journey Toward Peace and Purpose

A must for readers interested in stories about overcoming adversity and learning about the power of faith and perseverance.

Impossible People: A Completely Average Recovery Story

Wertz’s immersive and sometimes very funny tale hardly fits the “completely average” subtitle, yet nearly everyone can see themselves somewhere in her story, cheer her on, and enjoy the surprise ending.

The Woman in Me

Silenced for years, Spears uses this memoir to tell the world the truth about her life and to celebrate her newfound freedom. It is a must-purchase for all collections.

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, May 2024 Titles

Transgender Memoirs | Graphic Novels

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?