MYSTERY

Where They Lie

Thomas & Mercer: Amazon May 2023. 240p. ISBN 9781662508080. pap. $16.99. SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
In Hart’s latest (following Or Else), child-protective services agent Nora McTavish combats memories of an abusive childhood while investigating what went on behind closed doors in vlogger Kaylee Volk’s home. Kaylee and her wealthy husband Justin seemed to have the perfect life with their three foster children: Bethany, Mason, and Andrea. Kaylee, a former foster child herself, documented the family’s activities on her social media accounts until the day the family’s private plane crashed into the ocean with everyone on board. Only Kaylee survived. From her hospital bed, she admits that teenager Andrea crashed the plane deliberately. Nora had been called to Andrea’s school shortly before the crash to investigate a fight between Andrea and Mason, but she is not convinced that Andrea was suicidal. When Nora searches the family’s house for clues, she finds a broken iPad and, against procedure, brings it home. After her home is ransacked, Nora realizes that whatever is on the iPad may be the key to breaking the case.
VERDICT The plot takes many twists and turns and keeps readers guessing until the surprising end. For fans of Harlan Coben, Riley Sager, and Linwood Barclay.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?