SFF

The Dragons of Deepwood Fen

DAW (The Book of the Holt, Bk. 1). Dec. 2023. 496p. ISBN 9780756418120. $29. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
Lorelei Aurelius and Rylan Holbrooke have nothing in common. Lorelei is one of the church’s most promising inquisitors, while Rylan is just a thief, albeit a notorious one with talent as a dragon singer. After a series of clues leads the two to the mountain city of Ancris, the pair stumble upon a collaboration between the church and the dreaded Red Knives, a discovery that brands the two as traitors to the empire. Fleeing on the back of an illicit dragon, Lorelei and Rylan seek safety within the Holt. However, where they hoped to find refuge, they instead discover someone endeavoring to awaken an ancient evil. The author of the “Song of Shattered Sands” series has again demonstrated that he can build a world with deep lore and engaging characters. Unfortunately, there’s so much happening that Beaulieu’s otherwise riveting story is mired in inconsistent exposition and an overly large cast of point-of-view characters.
VERDICT Provided readers can ignore its flaws, the first entry in the “Book of the Holt” series is worth the attention of those seeking an epic fantasy experience. Recommended for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?