ROMANCE

Never Blow a Kiss

Forever: Grand Central (The Secret Society of Governess Spies, Bk. 1). Jan. 2024. 352p. ISBN 9781538740521. pap. $16.99. HISTORICAL ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
DEBUT Passion ignites as a governess and a detective investigate murders in 1838 London. Emily has determinedly worked to escape her past by becoming a respectable governess, but her street smarts attract the attention of a secret network of fellow governesses who monitor the ton. A serial killer is targeting sex workers, and the governesses are seeking justice. Also on the case is Detective Zach Denholm, who hailed from a working-class family before making his fortune. During an assignment, Emily blows a kiss Zach’s way, teasing him for being surrounded by mothers of marriageable daughters. Zach is immediately enraptured by her, but Emily’s secrets threaten to keep them apart. Both protagonists’ humble beginnings gratifyingly juxtapose the ton’s decadence and its disregard for the killer’s victims, while Zach’s respect for Emily’s autonomy makes him the perfect match for her strong will.
VERDICT An exceptional debut, braided with banter, wit, chemistry, and intrigue; perfect for fans of Tessa Dare’s humor and the cunning feminism of Sarah MacLean’s “Hell’s Belles” series.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?