Tor.com

67 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Face

With its slower pace and the many concepts it introduces and leaves unresolved, West’s debut novel will appeal to readers who appreciate philosophical fiction and fans of Scott Westerfeld’s “Uglies” and “Impostors” series.
PREMIUM

High Times in the Low Parliament

Readers who like their political fantasies and power trips to go down with a spoonful of sugar will eat this up.

Nona the Ninth

Muir’s third entry in “The Locked Tomb” series (after Harrow the Ninth) is as immersive and original as its predecessors.

A Taste of Gold and Iron

Rowland’s (A Choir of Lies) latest continues to showcase their captivating prose, immersive details, and complicated characters.

A Prayer for the Crown-Shy

Chambers’s second “Monk and Robot” novella (following A Psalm for the Wild-Built) continues the quiet, contemplative journey through philosophy, nature, and personal experience.

Drunk on All Your Strange New Words

Fans of John Scalzi’s Lock In and Brandon Sanderson’s Legion will be enthralled with this deft blend of murder mystery and science fiction. In the end, the motives for the crime are all too human, while the means, methods, and opportunities are all firmly part of this futuristic setting. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The City Inside

Readers will empathize with Joey’s dilemma and get caught up in the minutiae of her life. The novel’s theme, that the truth does not and cannot set anyone free, is as disturbing as it is thought-provoking.

January Fifteenth

Swirsky’s slice-of-life UBI stories present just a few possible effects of this hotly debated topic. Without either political rhetoric or exhortation, these brief glimpses of other lives give readers the chance to see what might be in a world with a social safety net. Highly recommended for readers of political and social science–oriented SF.

Siren Queen

Luli is a compelling character both on and off the screen in this story that takes the mythmaking of Hollywood and transforms it and her into something transcendent. Highly recommended.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?