Harper Voyager

31 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories from Dirty Computer

Monáe’s collection speaks to both the sf tradition of mind-control tyranny and the way that the powerful marginalize individuals in order to control the whole. Highly recommended for readers of conspiracy and thought-control sf or of Afrofuturist works by the likes of Octavia Butler, Nalo Hopkinson, N. K. Jemisin, and Nnedi Okorafor.
PREMIUM

The Blood Trials

Davenport’s ambitious debut is gritty and bloody, and balances emotional arcs with fast action. Fans of Pierce Brown’s Red Rising and Evan Winter’s The Rage of Dragons will find similarities in Ikenna’s journey.

The Misfit Soldier

Highly recommended for readers of military sf who love stories where just as it seems the grunts are utterly FUBAR’d, they pull another half-baked plan out of the fire, screw the brass, and save the day.

Westside Lights

Highly recommended for readers who like their genres so bent that they flow into each other, where the fantasy is so dark it’s nearly horror and the mystery uncovers rot and magic in equal measure.

Daughter of the Moon Goddess

An exquisitely detailed fantasy with a strong, vulnerable protagonist. The intimate prose makes Tan’s wonderful debut an immersive experience; share with fans of Shelley Parker-Chan and Katherine Arden.
PREMIUM

The Seventh Queen

A satisfying conclusion that showcases intriguing characters, epic worldbuilding, and all the political and personal scheming a reader could want.
PREMIUM

The Wolf and the Woodsman

This dark, YA-crossover, coming-of-age fairy tale really only has its Eastern European atmosphere going for it. The action focuses almost exclusively on Évike and Gáspár, who are very two-dimensional. Readers expecting something like the Grishaverse or Naomi Novik’s books will be disappointed.
PREMIUM

Capture the Crown

Estep’s new series takes readers back to the world she built in “Crown of Shards,” filled once again with exciting machinations and a slow burn of romance.
PREMIUM

The Wrong Marquess

Recommended to fans of historical romance looking for plots driven by interpersonal conflict as opposed to outside forces.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?