Del Rey: Ballantine

19 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Road to Roswell

Recommended for readers of humorous SF, especially those who loved the author’s previous lighthearted books, such as Bellwether and To Say Nothing of the Dog.

In an Orchard Grown from Ash

The duology’s conclusion (following In a Garden Burning Gold) is a raw, emotional journey of a family created and broken by the consequences of their actions.
PREMIUM

To Shape a Dragon’s Breath

Blackgoose blends Indigenous history with fantastical beasts, taking themes of inequality and social agency in new directions. An excellent crossover novel for adults and young adults alike.

The Haunting of Alejandra

The big-five-publisher debut by Castro (Out of Aztlan; Bram Stoker Award–nominated The Queen of the Cicadas) will bring her critically acclaimed, honest, sensual, and raw storytelling to a larger audience. Suggest far and wide to fans of unapologetically feminist, thought-provoking, and engrossing horror, such as the works of Carmen Maria Machado and Gwendolyn Kiste.
PREMIUM

Wayward

This high demand sequel to one of the best and most terrifying books of 2019 will delight fans. Suggest both books to fans of epic, post-apocalyptic, socially conscious horror such as Joe Hill’s The Fireman, Chuck Hogan and Guillermo del Toro’s “The Strain Trilogy,” and Justin Cronin’s “The Passage Trilogy.”
PREMIUM

Nocturne

This adult debut from YA author Weeks (The Waking Forest) is perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and fairy tale retellings, with great character development and a mystery that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries

While the pacing starts off slow, Fawcett grabs readers’ attention by drawing them into the folklore as well as the surrounding world. She does a fantastic job building complex characters, and the academic-prose style of Emily’s journal entries works well for the story. A great read for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Erin Morgenstern.

The Golden Enclaves

Novik’s third “Scholomance” book is a strong and satisfying finish to an exciting fantasy series.

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau

This is historical science fiction at its best: a dreamy reimagining of a classic story with vivid descriptions of lush jungles and feminist themes. Some light romance threads through the heavier ethical questions concerning humanity. Readers of Isabel Cañas’s The Hacienda will be drawn in by the setting and themes; fans of other classic remixes, such as Megan Shepherd’s The Madman’s Daughter, will also enjoy.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?