DAW

34 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

She Who Knows: Firespitter

Readers who fell hard for Okorafor’s award-winning Who Fears Death (recently optioned by HBO, with George R.R. Martin at the helm) will be thrilled to read this novel that dives deeply into the backstory of one of the fundamental but mysterious characters in that tale. Those who enjoyed Shadow Speaker will find a story with a similar form but featuring a much-deadlier young woman who defies the rules that are intended to reduce and confine her gifts and her spirit.

Full Speed to a Crash Landing

Readers looking for a wild romp of a sci-fi caper story, complete with long games, big plans, wild heists, and epically flirtatious banter, are going to fall in love with Ada Lamarr every bit as much as Agent Rian White does in this first of a projected trilogy from Revis (Museum of Magic). Perfect for fans of Valerie Valdes and Constance Fay.

Someone You Can Build a Nest In

Wiswell’s debut is the ultimate monster slayer story, if the monster is just a misunderstood creature searching for love. This romantic fantasy has a great balance of grimness and humor that will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher’s fantasy titles.
PREMIUM

Floating Hotel

Readers who loved the combination of shipboard mystery, secrecy, and entertainment featured in recent novels (such as The Spare Man by Mary Robinette Kowal, You Sexy Thing by Cat Rambo, and The Sol Majestic by Ferrett Steinmetz) will be happy to board the Grand Abeona and share her final journey in the latest book from Curtis (Frontier).

Valdemar

The legions of fans for this popular, long-running series will eat this entry up with a spoon and then hold out their bowls and beg for more stories in a world that thankfully exhibits no sign of ending.

To Cage a God

May’s (Seven Mercies) Russian-inspired fantasy is filled with deadly magic, political machinations, and the balance of familial bonds and desire for power.
PREMIUM

The Dragons of Deepwood Fen

Provided readers can ignore its flaws, the first entry in the “Book of the Holt” series is worth the attention of those seeking an epic fantasy experience. Recommended for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan.
PREMIUM

Gryphon in Light

This book begins a new trilogy within the Valdemar world. Readers who discovered or rediscovered Valdemar in Lackey’s recent Beyond will find enough links to the events of that origin story to see this later Valdemar as a new but still beloved place, as will regular readers of the series.

The Court War

This novel is a whole lot of fun. Fenra and her gang are both smart and smart-alecky, keeping themselves and readers going on a rising tide of witty banter and out-of-the-frying-pan-into-the-fire action. Highly recommended for those who like a little swash in their buckle and enjoy watching smart people save the day.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?