Tregillis, Ian

5 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Liberation

Tregillis brings one of the more imaginative alternate histories of recent years to a dynamic close. Anastasia and Berenice, both ruthless in the pursuit of their own ends, are compelling mirrors of each other. Berenice, the stunningly foul-mouthed spymaster, shines brightest.

The Rising

Tregillis ("The Milkweed Triptych" series; Something More Than Night) continues to thrill with his daring alt-history story of robots in the New World. While splitting off from Jax's story might have slowed the book's momentum, instead the author keeps up the tension by shifting the perspective among Jax, Berenice, and Longchamps as they all struggle to find a way to stop the Clakker army despite differing ultimate goals. Thrilling action scenes and breakneck pacing will leave readers desperate for the next volume.

The Mechanical

Tregillis (Bitter Seeds) presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series.

Something More Than Night

The author of the Milkweed series (Bitter Seeds; The Coldest War; Necessary Evil) delivers a stand-alone tale of treachery in heaven and redemption on Earth. Dry humor and a beautiful homage to Chandler make this cosmic noir story a satisfying read for both fantasy and paranormal mystery fans.

The Coldest War

This follow-up to Bitter Seeds explores the consequences of using evil methods for the greater good. Well-drawn characters and a feel for time and place make this an excellent journey into an alternate Britain and should please fans of Harry Turtledove and Naomi Novik.

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing