Shirley Quan

87 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

What You Are Looking For Is in the Library

Aoyama’s story is reminiscent of positively told stories, which could be made into an episode of The Twilight Zone, with the librarian as the main protagonist working her magic in each encounter. The storytelling is engaging, much like Sayaka Murata’s Convenience Store Woman, making this book a fast read. Bibliophiles and book groups looking for a feel-good story will certainly find it here.
PREMIUM

The Fetishist

Filled with grim humor, Min’s novel is an engaging and thoughtful read. Those who enjoyed Charmaine Craig’s My Nemesis and Elaine Hsieh Chou’s Disorientation are likely to appreciate this final work from Min, which fully reflects her talents as a writer.
PREMIUM

The Liberators

Koh’s work should resonate strongly, with its focus on the desire of wanting to be seen and to belong, regardless of the histories that shape the individual.

The Premonition

Yoshimoto packs a lot of detail and intrigue in this spare novel (with additional credit to Yoneda for her translation). A bestseller over three decades ago, readers familiar with Yoshimoto’s work will not want to miss this one. It is a welcomed addition to her oeuvre for English reading audiences and definitely worth the wait.

I Went To See My Father

Shin successfully crafts yet another beautifully presented and heart-rending tale, giving readers much to ponder. Not to be missed, it will appeal not just to fans of Please Look After Mom but to anyone who enjoys strong, introspective storytelling; also a good candidate for book groups.
PREMIUM

Ghost Girl, Banana

A debut work of historical fiction with strong storytelling that readers of Lisa See, Jamie Ford, and Gail Tsukiyama will enjoy; book groups should appreciate this first novel and look forward to Wharton’s future work.
PREMIUM

Ghost Music

Replete with dreamlike sequences, enclosed walls, and talking mushrooms, the narrative leaves Bai Yu’s actual existence unclear, giving fantasy fans much to ponder. Not a story for all readers, but those who enjoyed Yu’s previous work or surrealistic fiction like Hiroko Oyamada’s The Hole will likely welcome her latest offering.
PREMIUM

She and Her Cat: Stories

Reminiscent of the animated film The Secret Life of Pets, this work may be short, but it’s a surprisingly engrossing and entertaining light read. Readers looking for a quick and overall uplifting work should consider picking up this title, and it’s sure to be appreciated by pet lovers all around.

Read-Alikes for ‘Our Missing Hearts’ by Celeste Ng | LibraryReads

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?