Laurie A. Cavanaugh

60 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The House of Eve

This is a moving work of women’s fiction with timely perspective on racism, colorism, and pre-Roe women’s rights in the United States of the 1950s. Fans of Tayari Jones, Brit Bennett, and Jeni McFarland will want to check it out.

Read-Alikes for ‘Oath of Loyalty’ by Vince Flynn and Kyle Mills | LibraryReads

Mademoiselle Revolution

A richly imagined work of historical women’s fiction incorporating themes of diversity and equality very relevant today, this thrilling debut will give book clubs much to discuss.

It All Comes Down to This

All you could want in a beach read: three sisters with secrets; a summer house in Maine to be sold off (or not); a sexy stranger from out of town who’s looking to buy; and no problem that can’t be satisfyingly resolved before the story ends.
PREMIUM

Three More Months

Readers will laugh and cry at Echavarre’s first foray into multicultural women’s fiction with a YOLO (“you only live once”) message.
PREMIUM

Like Wind Against Rock

Kim’s second novel (after Chinhominey’s Secret) is a slow-moving but compelling intergenerational family drama set in a Korean American community in Southern California. Readers will root for Alice to emerge from a decades-long crisis of confidence and self-doubt to reach her full potential.
PREMIUM

All the Things I Meant To Tell You

Readers needn’t have read the first book about Hahna, Twila, and Kimberly to be immediately caught up in this story. The longtime best friends deal with wedding, sorority sister, and relationship drama, as they maintain composure and appearances and keep all hell from breaking loose.

Yellow Wife

This well-researched and intensely moving fifth novel by Johnson (And Then There Was Me) is perfect for fans of historical fiction with strong female characters such as The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom and Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez. Book clubs looking for #OwnVoices authors will be powerfully impressed by this story of a lesser-known aspect of the history of slavery in the American South.

When No One Is Watching

This sizzling summer thriller starts on low and heats up fast. Smart, sexy, and surprising, this suspenseful novel revealing the underbelly of urban gentrification will keep readers reading late into the night. [See “Turn the Page: Editors’ Fall Picks,” LJ 8/20.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?