Lauren Kage

19 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Free Love: A Novel

Personal and societal growing pains are deftly contrasted in Hadley’s highly recommended historical drama.
PREMIUM

The Change

Though Miller offers a compelling power fantasy for anyone with a uterus facing change, her novel tends to equate menstruation with womanhood, a gender essentialist approach that may upset listeners. Good, but not mandatory.
PREMIUM

The Hawk’s Way: Encounters with Fierce Beauty

Though listeners must rely on a supplemental pdf to view photographs of Montgomery’s training and close-ups of the hawks, the author’s irrepressible enthusiasm, vivid oral storytelling, and a brief clip of hawk sounds make this short listen, that grips and soars, an essential purchase.

Young Mungo

A flawlessly narrated Scottish dialect matched to gut-wrenching writing make this bildungsroman a nonstop listen and a must-buy.

Bomb Shelter

An irresistible listening experience. Philpott’s blending of deep insights with domestic relatability will appeal to fans of Glennon Doyle and Jenny Lawson.
PREMIUM

Conversations with People Who Hate Me: 12 Things I Learned from Talking to Internet Strangers

Listeners of the titular podcast will provide built-in demand for this author-narrated account of its origins and notable moments. Buy where fan interest warrants.
PREMIUM

The Books of Jacob

Demand will be high for Croft’s translation of Nobel Laureate Tokarczuk’s masterpiece, which rewards a close reading in print or a distraction-free listen.
PREMIUM

Devil House

Highly recommended for fans of unexpected, yet perfectly set up twists; with music by Darnielle and bandmate Matt Douglas.
PREMIUM

Seven Games: A Human History

This melancholy yet intriguing assessment of parlor games’ role in shaping our past and AI’s future is an optional audio purchase.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?