Julie Kane

68 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Dress of Violet Taffeta

Fans of the 1991 BBC series The House of Eliott will find familiar comfort in Arlen’s descriptions of fabrics, colorworks, and evolving fashions.

The Summer Place

This highly recommended novel, with its well-written characters who revisit their pasts and reconnect with the present, illustrates exactly why Weiner is a force to be reckoned with when it comes to summer reads.
PREMIUM

Survivor’s Guilt

Topically relevant, edgy, and riveting, this series is one to watch. Rooting for a trans protagonist in a position of power is thoroughly refreshing and inspiring. Here’s to more Erin McCabes.
PREMIUM

The Lost Notebook of Édouard Manet

Reminiscent of Victorian fiction, this epistolary novel reads as intimately as a found artifact from Manet himself. Readers may find it difficult to extract themselves from the story to recall that this is not in fact a primary source but rather a constructed narrative. This compelling and revealing book furthers a cultural understanding of Manet’s place in time and art, a difficult task for a difficult character. Very well done.
PREMIUM

The Light of Luna Park

This moving debut showcases the power of storytelling behind historical fiction. Armstrong highlights the novelty, frustration, and strength of rebellious action behind a medical marvel we take for granted today. For fans of Kate Moore’s The Radium Girls and Emma Donoghue’s The Pull of the Stars.
PREMIUM

Sisters in Arms: A Novel of the Daring Black Women Who Served During World War II

Based on the true story of the 6888th, Alderson’s debut tells of the first women officers in the armed services (also the first Black women to serve, and the only all-Black, female U.S. battalion deployed overseas in World War II). For fans of Hidden Figures and untold stories of heroes and heroines of World War II.
PREMIUM

Shutter

In this twisty thriller, Betty’s first-person narration will keep readers on their toes. Recommended for fans of thrillers with unreliable narrators, and psychologically intense plots involving movies and filmmaking.
PREMIUM

An Unexpected Peril

While series fans will certainly enjoy the newest installment for Veronica and Stoker, this reads well as a stand-alone and will lure readers to Raybourn’s backlist. A rollicking adventure appropriate for mountaineers and mystery-hunters alike.

The Heiress: The Revelations of Anne de Bourgh

Treading lightly on beloved Austen ground, Greeley’s storytelling is intricate, masterly, and delightfully imaginative. Highly recommended for Austen fans as well as readers of period fiction.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?