Jeff Ayers

66 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The 13th Hour: Chaos

The twists and turns are nonstop, and knowledge of the previous book is not necessary to enjoy this thrill ride. Doetsch’s previous novels have been both high concept and imaginative, and this one is no exception. Nothing in the novel is predictable, and readers who enjoy the work of Blake Crouch will find a new favorite author.

The Gatekeeper

Though the author, who’s worked for decades in journalism and politics, has written this thriller under a pseudonym, it is clear that they know how to write a gripping and compelling story. It’s a mixture of the best black op novels like a Brad Thor or Mark Greaney, with a hint of the TV show Leverage. Dez has a bright future ahead, and this one is a true keeper.
PREMIUM

Hostile Intent

Drake is a skilled operative who has fun while dealing with serious scenarios, making him seem more human than superhero. The intricate level of who’s-doing-what-to-whom adds twists. Readers who enjoy the world of special ops should add Bentley to their reading pile.
PREMIUM

Box 88

There is clearly another Kite adventure coming, and it is necessary to address how this novel “ends.” Fans of spy novels in the style of John le Carré and Daniel Silva should enjoy.

Island of Thieves

Hamilton has written his best “Van Shaw” book to date with this slow-burn tale that takes his main character in unexpected directions. Van is torn between wondering whom he can trust and keeping his known allies safe. High stakes, a genuinely complex plot, compelling characters, and excellent writing make this another winner from Hamilton. Fans of Daniel Silva and Gregg Hurwitz should add Van Shaw to their list of go-to characters.

Down Range

Moore has written a tense and irresistible thriller that fans of C. J. Box and the military action novels of Brad Taylor will savor. The chaos mixes well with a stellar panorama of Texas. Readers will happily look forward to the next installment in what looks to be a series featuring Garrett Kohl and his family’s ranch life.

PREMIUM

Steel Fear

The combo of a military thriller and a serial killer narrative is genius, and the story sings with compelling authenticity. Readers of either genre will find much to savor in this page-turning novel. Webb and Mann dive into the world of the aircraft carrier--an enormous city on the sea that’s a character in itself. Hopefully, this is only the start of a series featuring the enigmatic Navy SEAL Finn.

Falling

Newman keeps up an extreme pace from the first page—a near-impossible task, considering that the hero is locked in a cockpit, unable to take action himself. This novel is like the films Die Hard and Speed on steroids, creating one of the year’s best thrillers.

Sons of Valor

This book is a must-read for fans of covert-ops thrillers, and the authors are looking like the next Preston and Child.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?