Edward Goldberg

45 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Jewish Noir II: Tales of Crime and Other Dark Deeds

An uneven set of stories touching on Jewish identity, religion, and history.

Repentance

A tense debut thriller with excellent characters and a timely, satisfying plot; knowledge of recent Argentinian history would help readers contextualize the violence Díaz depicts. For fans of Philip Kerr’s “Bernie Gunther” novels.

PREMIUM

Mrs. March

Feito’s debut can be classified as a literary psychological thriller, but it doesn’t fit neatly into one genre. Fans of novels about psychological degeneration will be satisfied.
PREMIUM

The Woman in the Purple Skirt

Imamura’s first novel to be translated into English is a character study with psychological thriller overtones. The matter-of-fact prose jibes well with the anticlimactic ending. For fans of Virginia Feito’s Mrs. March.
PREMIUM

Twenty

This 17th book in the “Jack Swyteck” series (after The Big Lie) is a low-key legal thriller for the first two-thirds of the book, after which the action heats up to inferno proportions. Hold on to your seats after that. Fans of Grippando and of legal thrillers will not be disappointed.
PREMIUM

Scavenger

Dickie’s transformation from addict to totally logical “operative” is one of several implausible plot points. While the use of street vernacular in dialog is reasonable, its use in narrative, as well as overzealous use of italicized Spanish, makes the story difficult to understand. The characters are not fleshed out and the action, at times, is comical.
PREMIUM

The Eighth Detective

Although the stories in this first collection have twists and turns, and the book itself has a surprise ending, neither the tales, nor the writing are compelling, the latter containing more similes than imagination. [See Prepub Alert, 1/22/20.]
PREMIUM

Clean Hands

High-tech surveillance and cloak-and-dagger activity do not offset the anticlimactic ending or the mundane plot of the Brooklyn-based private investigator and author’s third outing (after Every Man a Menace). [See Prepub Alert, 11/25.19.]
PREMIUM

The Hook

The dynamic among Royce, Donne, and Allison is reminiscent of Spenser, Hawk, and Susan Silverman from Robert B. Parker’s “Spenser” novels. Fans of Parker and Ace Atkins will appreciate the smartly paced action the surprising denouement.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?