Brian Renvall

76 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Major League Rebels: Baseball Battles Over Workers’ Rights and American Empire

Elias and Drier have exceptional insight on behind-the-scenes labor fights in the MLB; a fine depiction of capitalist avarice. A must for baseball fans.
PREMIUM

Cuba: An American History

A captivating history of Cuba, highly recommended for general readers and specialists alike.

All In: An Autobiography

An absorbing story, richly told by one of the 20th century’s pioneering sports figures and social activists. An essential memoir that will inspire and stay with readers of all ages.
PREMIUM

The Optimist: A Case for the Fly Fishing Life

A lovely, ruminative book about a venerable sport; it bears comparison to Adrian Smith’s Monsters of Rivers and Rock. Coggins’s enthusiasm for fly fishing is so infectious that the book will readily hook non-fishers as well.
PREMIUM

Voyagers: The Settlement of the Pacific

It could be said that this work is cursory in handling its biggest themes, but Thomas successfully draws readers into this fascinating, often-overlooked history and offers plenty of resources for those looking to read more.

Read-Alikes for ‘Sooley’ by John Grisham | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Reshaping of America’s Game: Major League Baseball After the Players’ Strike

Soderholm-Difatte’s great strength lies in his examination of the steroid era and the damages it wrought, representation of non-white people in baseball management, and new baseball analytics which look for the most productive players through statistical scrutiny. An engaging overview of the sport.
PREMIUM

The Age of Wood: Our Most Useful Material and the Construction of Civilization

This engaging natural history will draw in fans of Mark Kurlansky’s Cod and Vince Beiser’s The World in a Grain. It does a fantastic job of elevating humble wood to its rightful place alongside stone, bronze, and iron as a key resource in leading humanity to its dazzling achievements.
PREMIUM

Be the Refuge: Raising the Voices of Asian American Buddhists

Han’s contribution to this overlooked aspect of the Asian American experience is an important one as it gives a voice to many invisible people in American society.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?