Tor

42 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Blacktongue Thief

Readers of epic fantasy novelists, like Tolkien or Brandon Sanderson, will enjoy this journey, which is by turns fun, magical, or terrifying for the travelers. Buehlman (The Lesser Dead) offers a departure from his horror novels in this fantasy with dark undertones. With fabulous examples of invented languages and dialects, this title is transporting.

She Who Became the Sun

Parker-Chan’s debut is forceful, immersive, and unforgettable. This inspired queer retelling of Chinese history is an exciting read.
PREMIUM

The Helm of Midnight

This tale has creative worldbuilding and an intense focus on the psychology of a killer. Its unresolved ending will leave readers either frustrated or eager to tackle the next installment in the series.

The House of Always

Lyons creates an immersive and complex history filled with delightful characters, bold action, and surprising twists.

The Last Watch

Dewes’s debut is an exciting, fast-paced ride around the edges of the universe, where those rejected by much of humanity are the only ones who can save it. Fans of K. B. Wagers’s “Farian Wars” series and John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War will welcome this military science fiction thriller.

The Witness for the Dead

The follow-up to the acclaimed The Goblin Emperor brings back a favorite character and expands the elaborate world Addison has created. Fans of the first book—and new readers—will find this novel delightful and immersive
PREMIUM

The Best of R. A. Lafferty

The stories in this collection sum up the quintessential Lafferty, but the standouts in this volume are the heartfelt introductions. Readers wondering about this writer who influenced their current favorite authors, and those who have seen references to this influential author but are having difficulty finding his work, as much of it has gone out of print, will enjoy this collection.

Engines of Oblivion

Osborne’s follow-up to Architects of Memory is a solid story of corporate control versus personhood, alien encounters, and doing what is right as opposed to what is easy.
PREMIUM

A Desolation Called Peace

This follow-up to Martine’s debut, A Memory Called Empire, contains beautiful prose and complex worldbuilding that will immerse readers in a dazzling story of alien contact and colonization.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?