Putnam

31 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Prophets

Jones’s expertly drawn characters have depth and purpose, and the writing is beautiful despite the subject matter. A work that will resonate with those moved by Charles Johnson’s Middle Passage and Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad; highly recommended and especially encouraged for collections with an LGBTQ focus.

PREMIUM

Atomic Love

Fields’s (The Age of Desire) immersive love story is thoroughly engaging. Fans of Beatriz Williams or Paula McLean will take great pleasure in the rich historical detail, suspenseful intrigue, and the emotionally charged romance.

PREMIUM

All the Broken People

The main protagonist is an unreliable narrator, but then all the characters are unreliable, making this a fast-paced, unputdownable roller-coaster of a read sure to appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn or Paula Hawkins.
PREMIUM

The Wicked Sister

Despite the story’s few flaws, Dionne knocks out a psychological thriller with a low-grade yet ever-present sense of danger. Fans of Paul Doiron and environmental thrillers may like this book. [See Prepub Alert, 1/29/20.]

Last Tang Standing

The combination of an appealing lead, a glamorous setting, and relatable, funny portrayals of relationships and workplace politics make this debut one of the must-read escapist pleasures of the summer. Fans of Kevin Kwan’s Crazy Rich Asians and Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game will be dazzled.
PREMIUM

The Chicken Sisters

Mae and Amanda are spirited characters, and their foibles are told with care and humor. Recommended for Food Network and HGTV watchers, this debut novel is plucky and heartwarming. 

PREMIUM

The Goodbye Man

While not as dynamic as the first in the series (The Never Game), this will still find fans with those who enjoyed the first book and for Deaver fans in general. [See Prepub Alert, 10/28/19.]
PREMIUM

Super Host

A painter herself, Russo makes the act of creating art come alive, while effectively limning her characters in this incisive study of contemporary life. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

The Land Beyond the Sea

Recommended for Penman’s many fans, and readers seeking out fascinating lesser-known figures not often covered in historical fiction.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month