Minotaur: St. Martin’s

24 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Simple Murder: A Kate Burkholder Short Story Collection

As with any collection, some stories are stronger than others, and the author doesn’t have much opportunity to develop the plot. Castillo shines when she focuses on the Amish lifestyle, and in the longer stories with more opportunity to delve into the plot. Kate Burkholder fans will want to pick this up while waiting for the next full-length offering from the author.
PREMIUM

Finlay Donovan Is Killing It

Readers can pick up YA author Cosimano’s (Seasons of the Storm) fun adult debut and put it down again without losing the story. Adults and high school readers will enjoy this breezy romp.
PREMIUM

The Wicked Hour

Blanchard (Trace of Evil) presents a bewitching police procedural in this second “Natalie Lockhart” novel, but readers may be at a disadvantage if they have not read the first book, as the segue is choppy. Though Natalie is well drawn, peripheral characters, especially a love interest, are not fully developed. Still, the setting and musical topic are excellent, and the dramatic conclusion satisfies. For fans of Erica Spindler.
PREMIUM

Prodigal Son

Fans of Tom Clancy or Lee Child will love this latest installment of the “Orphan X” series by Hurwitz (“Tim Rackley” series), which offers twists and turns, danger and adrenaline, and gadgetry worthy of James Bond. There is an underlying examination of the meaning of family that lends extra depth to the book.

The Man in the Microwave Oven

The follow-up to Cox’s award-winning The Man on the Washing Machine includes a delightful amateur sleuth and eccentric characters with appeal for fans of traditional mysteries. The intricate plotting will keep readers guessing.

The Darkest Evening

Superbly drawn characters, an absorbing plot, and a compelling narrative combine in a classic mystery that will delight both Cleeves’s fans and newcomers alike.
PREMIUM

Outsider

Castillo’s 12th “Kate Burkholder” novel (after Shamed) is a suspenseful, culture-melding nail-biter mixing nonstop action, a timely plot, and street-tough dialog, delivering a gritty crime drama with a realistic look at the Amish lifestyle. Fans of the series and crime dramas à la Marta Perry and Lisa Gardner will find this hard to put down. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/20.]
PREMIUM

The City of Tears

Fans of Mosse will delight in the next saga in this series, while aficionados of historical fiction will enjoy this book that can be read as a stand-alone. [See Prepub Alert, 11/11/19.]
PREMIUM

Once You Go This Far

This latest P.I. novel is an intricately plotted tale by the Shamus Award–winning author of What You Want To See. The mystery with a flawed protagonist who delves into a case involving controversial subjects such as spousal abuse and a cultish church will appeal to readers of Sara Paretsky and Tracy Clark. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/20.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?