Liveright:

21 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Boys of Alabama

Because Max is unfamiliar with the U.S. South, his experiences are described using clichés meant to represent the town’s views on gays, god, football, and liberals, with results that are both unrevealing and off-putting. Not recommended. [See Prepub Alert, 11/4/19.]

Poulenc: The Life in the Songs

Highly recommended to readers interested in the life and works of the composer, as well as to those eager to learn about the cultural and political milieu of Poulenc’s life.
PREMIUM

Jesus and John Wayne: How White Evangelicals Corrupted a Faith and Fractured a Nation

This timely exploration helps readers place President Trump and his supporters in the context of white Christian America’s reaction to mid-20th-century social justice activism.
PREMIUM

In Search of Lost Time: In the Shadow of Young Girls in Flower

Let cynics and snobs consider this project Proust for Dummies--kudos to Heuet and translator Marris (creative writing, Boston Univ.) for bringing Proust to both new audiences and the paneled page with class. Recommended to lovers of classic literature, fans of nonsuperhero sequential art, and anyone putting off tackling Proust.
PREMIUM

Unrigged: How Americans Are Battling Back To Save Democracy

Best suited for civically engaged readers interested in a populist vision for political activism.
PREMIUM

And I Do Not Forgive You: Stories and Other Revenges

Each story is vivid, unexpected, and satisfyingly weird. Darkly comic and whip-smart, this collection is recommended for readers of Aimee Bender and Alexandra Kleeman.
PREMIUM

Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America

The book sticks close to its focus of franchising McDonald’s restaurants among black communities in the 20th century, and covers the topic well. This niche subject may not have wide-ranging appeal, but the research is invaluable for those studying the intersections of race, economics, and business in the United States.
PREMIUM

The Shadow of Vesuvius: A Life of Pliny

Not ideal for those looking for a straightforward biography of Pliny, the book will appeal to readers who are willing to follow Dunn’s enthusiastic and vividly drawn, if meandering, story about the lives and influences of both men.

What’s Your Pronoun? Beyond He and She

Based on decades of research, Baron’s masterly work documents the historical and continued importance of personal pronouns. Those interested in gender politics or English grammar, or who feel that “he” and “she” are inadequate, would benefit greatly from perusing this book.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month