Liveright:

18 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

And I Do Not Forgive You: Stories and Other Revenges

Each story is vivid, unexpected, and satisfyingly weird. Darkly comic and whip-smart, this collection is recommended for readers of Aimee Bender and Alexandra Kleeman.
PREMIUM

Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America

The book sticks close to its focus of franchising McDonald’s restaurants among black communities in the 20th century, and covers the topic well. This niche subject may not have wide-ranging appeal, but the research is invaluable for those studying the intersections of race, economics, and business in the United States.
PREMIUM

The Shadow of Vesuvius: A Life of Pliny

Not ideal for those looking for a straightforward biography of Pliny, the book will appeal to readers who are willing to follow Dunn’s enthusiastic and vividly drawn, if meandering, story about the lives and influences of both men.

What’s Your Pronoun? Beyond He and She

Based on decades of research, Baron’s masterly work documents the historical and continued importance of personal pronouns. Those interested in gender politics or English grammar, or who feel that “he” and “she” are inadequate, would benefit greatly from perusing this book.
PREMIUM

Driving While Black: African American Travel and the Road to Civil Rights

Sorin’s engaging account of black motoring exposes a rough road in race relations but also a technology’s impact on black freedom. A great resource for people learning about black freedoms—and the fragility of those freedoms
PREMIUM

The Politics of Pain: Postwar England and the Rise of Nationalism

A harsh and thorough skewering of the worst parts of English nationalism, though the narrative’s narrow focus undercuts its potential to be more than a caustic takedown of the country's self-image.

PREMIUM

Listening for America: Inside the Great American Songbook from Gershwin to Sondheim

While Kapilow doesn’t quite make his case, he has written an engaging, informative, and provocative book that is recommended for fans of Broadway musicals.
PREMIUM

Boss of the Grips: The Life of James H. Williams and the Red Caps of Grand Central Terminal

Washington’s illustrated and well-researched work will have some appeal for rail fans, but its true value is for readers interested in the social condition of African Americans in New York during the period.
PREMIUM

Mudlark: In Search of London’s Past Along the River Thames

Maiklem positions the River Thames as a narrator, which only offers up some of its stories in a piecemeal fashion. The parts that are revealed, however, make for a captivating read.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.