Liveright:

24 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

In Search of Lost Time: In the Shadow of Young Girls in Flower

Let cynics and snobs consider this project Proust for Dummies--kudos to Heuet and translator Marris (creative writing, Boston Univ.) for bringing Proust to both new audiences and the paneled page with class. Recommended to lovers of classic literature, fans of nonsuperhero sequential art, and anyone putting off tackling Proust.
PREMIUM

Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982

A relatively quick read at under 200 pages, the novel was originally published in 2016 and is credited with launching Korea’s own #MeToo moment. It effectively communicates the realities Korean women face, especially discrimination in the workplace, rampant sexual harassment, and the nearly impossible challenge of balancing motherhood with career aspirations. [See Prepub Alert, 10/7/19.]
PREMIUM

Germany: A Nation in Its Time: Before, During, and After Nationalism, 1500–2000

Smith rejects the notion that German history is the story of militant nationalism marching toward genocide, and instead focuses on cartographers intellectuals who, prior to 1918, often described the landscape and ethnography of Germany in pacifistic terms. This new perspective on German history should be welcomed by all libraries.
PREMIUM

Unrigged: How Americans Are Battling Back To Save Democracy

Best suited for civically engaged readers interested in a populist vision for political activism.
PREMIUM

High Risk: A Doctor’s Notes on Pregnancy, Birth, and the Unexpected

Karkowsky raises important issues concerning patient autonomy and the treatment of women in the health care system. For those who enjoyed Perri Klass’s The Real Life of a Pediatrician and anyone interested in the challenges of modern health care.

PREMIUM

Kingdom of Nauvoo: The Rise and Fall of a Religious Empire on the American Frontier

A perceptive study of a religion that has become a dominant force in American society. This work will appeal to anyone interested in the often-contentious history of religion in America.

PREMIUM

And I Do Not Forgive You: Stories and Other Revenges

Each story is vivid, unexpected, and satisfyingly weird. Darkly comic and whip-smart, this collection is recommended for readers of Aimee Bender and Alexandra Kleeman.
PREMIUM

Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America

The book sticks close to its focus of franchising McDonald’s restaurants among black communities in the 20th century, and covers the topic well. This niche subject may not have wide-ranging appeal, but the research is invaluable for those studying the intersections of race, economics, and business in the United States.
PREMIUM

The Shadow of Vesuvius: A Life of Pliny

Not ideal for those looking for a straightforward biography of Pliny, the book will appeal to readers who are willing to follow Dunn’s enthusiastic and vividly drawn, if meandering, story about the lives and influences of both men.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month