Holt

51 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

From Warsaw with Love: Polish Spies, the CIA, and the Forging of an Unlikely Alliance

A decent foray into post–World War II intelligence that should appeal to readers interested in Cold War espionage or 20th-century Polish history.
PREMIUM

The Council of Animals

Both wildly imaginative and surprisingly funny, with (mostly) endearing characters, this thinly veiled metaphor offers what feels like an appropriate outcome. Tabbutt’s drawings of the animals add to the whimsy and interest of the tale by McDonell (An Expensive Education; The Bodies in Person), which readers of all ages will enjoy. Highly recommended.

Dear Miss Metropolitan

This tale of pain and healing will keep readers fully engaged and discussion groups talking for a long time.

Swan Dive: The Making of a Rogue Ballerina

A moving memoir that will resonate with readers who appreciate the exquisite form of ballet, as well as those hungry for a personal tale of darkness, passion, and euphoric triumph.
PREMIUM

Valedictorians at the Gate: Standing Out, Getting In, and Staying Sane While Applying to College

Recommended for students interested in applying to highly selective institutions.
PREMIUM

T: The Story of Testosterone, the Hormone That Dominates and Divides Us

A provocative, academic, accessible look at the science behind human behavior, suitable for those interested in natural and social sciences.
PREMIUM

Checkmate in Berlin: The Cold War Showdown That Shaped the Modern World

Weaving together archival transcripts and an incredible array of secondary sources, this book satisfies on many levels and will engage fans of military history, as well as readers looking for fresh takes on World War II. As in his previous books, Milton’s writing here is accessible and holds readers’ attention from start to finish.
PREMIUM

Big Vape: The Incendiary Rise of Juul

Ducharme grabs readers’ attention early on. This is not a scientific book, but rather a social examination of the rise of the vaping industry. For fans of Sherri Mabry Gordon’s Smoking, Vaping, and Your Health.
PREMIUM

One Two Three

The residents of Bourne are scrappy, resilient, and unforgettable. Frankel’s (This Is How It Always Is) novel is part Erin Brockovich, part coming-of-age novel, and sure to spark lively discussions at book club meetings.

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?