Harper

97 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Line To Kill

Horowitz’s latest reveals vulnerability in the condescending Daniel. Fans of the series or and Agatha Christie will relish character-driven mystery set on an isolated island.
PREMIUM

The Dressmakers of Auschwitz: The True Story of the Women Who Sewed To Survive

This book’s staggering accounts of inhumanity can be difficult to read, but the incredible stories of Holocaust survivors and the lives they built during and after the war are worth it.
PREMIUM

My Brother the Killer: A Family Story

Sharkey offers an intimate, thought-provoking meditation on how his brother’s childhood and adolescence affected his later actions. For readers interested in books that blend memoir and crime, such as Liza Rodman’s The Babysitter.
PREMIUM

Year of Plagues: A Memoir of 2020

D’Aguiar’s memoir is intensely personal and candid, technically informative, and, as a result of its range and inviting style, far from morbid or dry.
PREMIUM

The Stranger in the Mirror

This latest novel (after The Wife Stalker) from sisters Lynne and Valerie Constantine (writing as “Liv”) is a deliciously disorienting psychological thriller that will keep mystery lovers second-guessing everything they read as they struggle to unravel the complex tapestry of Addy’s life.
PREMIUM

By the Light of Burning Dreams: The Triumphs and Tragedies of the Second American Revolution

The Talbots cover a lot of ground in this wide-ranging yet accessible work. Readers interested in 1960s counterculture and activism will enjoy this history, especially when it discusses less written-about leaders.
PREMIUM

The Vixen

Prose’s (Lovers at the Chameleon Club) exuberant, lighthearted novel immerses the reader in 1950s ambience, yet it’s full of winks and nods to the current political climate. Simon, our overheated narrator, pulls us along as he stumbles into Cold War intrigue, and we’re never sure which way the plot will turn until literally the last sentence. What a delightful read!
PREMIUM

The Wreckage of My Presence

Equally irreverent and heartfelt, this collection is a roller-coaster, as Wilson shares her journey through the best and worst parts of her life. You might cry and scream, but you’ll be eager to get back in line to take another ride. For fans of Samantha Irby, Judy Greer, or Sarah Silverman.

V for Victory

In our own troubled times, it can’t hurt to be reminded of the spirit and resilience of those who endured a world at war. With warmth and humor to spare, this book is a balm.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?