Ballantine

37 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Growing Season: How I Saved an American Farm—And Built a New Life

Frey brings a breath of fresh air to both the personal memoir genre and the business world. Her writing is crisp and her personality winning. A must-read.
PREMIUM

The Road from Raqqa: A Story of Brotherhood, Borders, and Belonging

The parallel stories of the brothers’ lives is informative and deeply moving. The emotional narrative of their Syrian home will help readers to better understand why people choose to leave and why others stay.
PREMIUM

The New Girl

Great for those looking for a women’s fiction title with a psychological thriller tilt.
PREMIUM

The First Actress: A Novel of Sarah Bernhardt

Parts of the plot feel a little rushed and more time might have been spent exploring some of Bernhardt’s choices, but overall Gortner has created a compelling portrait that will certainly whet readers’ appetites to learn more about this charismatic figure. Recommended for fans of Melanie Benjamin and Allison Pataki.
PREMIUM

Troop 6000: The Girl Scout Troop That Began in a Shelter and Inspired the World

Effective as a feel-good account of family and community working against adversity and the benefits of Scouting for girls and their parents, the book is equally valuable for its intimate views of homelessness and its day-to-day effects.
PREMIUM

Katheryn Howard: The Scandalous Queen

This entertaining novel will appeal to historical fiction readers, especially those who enjoy the works of Phillippa Gregory. Fans of The Tudors will be excited to learn more about this fascinating royal. [See Prepub Alert, 11/11/19.]
PREMIUM

Honey and Venom: Confessions of an Urban Beekeeper

Fascinating, not only for the beekeeping information, but also for the urban-wildlife interactions involving bees. A good companion for anyone contemplating apiculture.
PREMIUM

The Trying Game: Get Through Fertility Treatment and Get Pregnant Without Losing Your Mind

Klein’s compassionate writing style makes this an excellent book for anyone dealing with fertility issues.

In Pursuit of Disobedient Women: A Memoir of Love, Rebellion, and Family, Far Away

Recommended for readers who enjoyed the memoirs of journalists and writers Marie Colvin, Clarissa Ward, Martha Gellhorn, and Anne Garrels, and anyone wishing to learn more about social and political life in West Africa.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month