William Grabowski

42 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Consider This: Moments in My Writing Life After Which Everything Was Different

Palahniuk readers--and writers at any career level--likely will devour this vivid and instructive behind-the-scenes tour.

Will: A Memoir

Readers of William S. Burroughs and Beat literature, as well as experiential journals from Djuna Barnes, Paul Bowles, and Hunter S. Thompson will find here much to endure and enjoy.
PREMIUM

Essays One: Reading and Writing

Those familiar with Davis’s work, and even new readers, will find much to ponder—even love

A Mile and a Half of Lines: The Art of James Thurber

With 260 drawings, chapters covering “The Line of Matisse or a Doodling Child?,” “Signs of the Hard Times,” “The Thurber Dog and Other Creatures,” a chronology of solo and group exhibitions, and exhaustive back matter, this volume is worthy of readers’ holy shelf and invaluable to Thurberites everywhere.

White Flights: Race, Fiction, and the American Imagination

For readers fascinated by race and reparative writing, now and in American history, and the transformative potential of literature to change minds and emphasize our common humanity. [See Prepub Alert, 2/4/19.]

Writing To Persuade: How To Bring People over to Your Side

A sensible, all-encompassing resource for both seasoned and aspiring writers.

Perihelion Summer

The mix of science, adventure, and philosophical probing of extinction will likely appeal to readers of Nnedi Okorafor, Neal Stephenson, William Gibson, and Louise Erdrich, and fans of complex sociological/environmental scenarios.

The Municipalists

Fried's debut explores issues likely to affect everyone—and pokes predatory capitalism with a sharp stick, attracting readers of darkly absurd science fiction à la Philip K. Dick, Charlie Jane Anders, and Warren Ellis.
PREMIUM

Interviews from the Edge: 50 Years of Conversations About Writing and Resistance

These unusually candid conversations with authors such as Ernest J. Gaines, Christopher Isherwood, Jorge Luis Borges, Francine Prose, Viet Thanh Nguyen, and Lina Wertmüller offer perspectives on aesthetics and the realities of resistance that will appeal to a range of writers and readers.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month