Tristan Boyd

33 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Impossible Owls

Recommended for fans of NPR's Driveway Moments, short-form history, and highbrow periodicals. ["Phillips's essays are not only fascinating and thoroughly researched but written in a distinctive voice that conveys humor, awareness, and vulnerability": LJ 7/18 review of the Farrar hc.]
PREMIUM

Providence

Unfortunately, this work will probably have limited appeal to genre readers, though thriller readers looking to branch out into speculative fiction may find this a reasonable transition. ["Kepnes explores love and devotion on the fringes and does so to great effect in a novel with no easy answers or happy endings": LJ 5/1/18 review of the Random hc.]
PREMIUM

Life on Mars: What To Know Before We Go

This look at mankind's relationship with potential life on Mars is recommended for those interested in popular science, history, sf, astronomy, futurism, and space colonization.
PREMIUM

Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress

Flawed yet interesting, this book has a powerful message degraded by the telling. Recommended for fans of Richard Dawkins and Christopher Hitchens.
PREMIUM

The Transition

Highly recommended for fans of suspense, classic dystopias, futurists, and sf. ["The writing is deft, and there is humor but always under a cloud of ominous possibilities. It's a cautionary tale, to be sure, supportive of the idea 'if it's too good to be true, it probably isn't'‚ÄČ":LJ 12/17 review of the Farrar hc.]
PREMIUM

Men Without Women

Another fantastic collection from Murakami, rich with emotion and written with mastery. Highly recommended for fans of literary fiction, Japanese fiction, weird fiction, and domestic fiction and for older male readers.
PREMIUM

His Father's Son : The Life of General Ted Roosevelt, Jr

This engrossing look at a less-well-known member of the Roosevelt clan is highly recommended for fans of history, politics, exploration, sports, and military nonfiction.
PREMIUM

Cannibalism: A Perfectly Natural History

While perhaps not for the faint of heart, this is a reasoned view of something so often used for shock value. Highly recommended for those interested in zoology, virology, biology, anthropology, criminology, history, and nature. ["The writing is delightfully accessible, rarely boring, and utterly captivating": LJ 11/15/16 starred review of the Algonquin hc.]
PREMIUM

Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team That Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory

This is a fascinating history of a very different sports world that can't help but draw the listener in, despite its flaws. Recommended for fans of women's sports, history, Southern stories, and, of course, Sooners fans. ["This hidden gem of a story deserves a place in all public library collections": LJ 9/15/16 starred review of the Algonquin hc.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month