Terry Lucas

32 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Sorry for the Dead

A challenging murder mystery, a look at the social pressures on those who were nonconformists, and a strong sense of place combine to make this a fascinating read. Fans of historical British mystery series and Tey’s books will find much to enjoy.

The Giver of Stars

Rich in history, with well-developed characters and a strong sense of place, this book will fit well in any library’s fiction collection. For fans of Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants or Catherine Marshall’s Christy. [See Prepub Alert, 4/15/19; “Fall Fireworks,” LJ 8/19.]
PREMIUM

Death in a Desert Land

As in the beloved Agatha Christie novels, a large cast of characters and many red herrings keep readers guessing. A strong sense of place and a thoughtful protagonist add interest. For readers of classic mysteries and, of course, Christie’s legions of fans.
PREMIUM

Grace After Henry

Both funny and touching, this charming story with wonderful characters examines the nature of grief, love, friendship, and family. For fans of Jojo Moyes and Marisa de los Santos. [See Editors' Spring Picks, p. 22.]
PREMIUM

Kingdom of the Blind

Highly recommended for all collections. [See Prepub Alert, 5/14/18.]
PREMIUM

Bright Young Dead

Fellowes captures the style and frenetic energy or the "bright young things" of the upper class in the Roaring Twenties. The characters are engaging, and the story's historical basis makes it ring true. Fans of Downton Abbey and mysteries by Jacqueline Winspear will enjoy this classic mystery. [See Prepub Alert, 4/19/18.]
PREMIUM

The Labyrinth of the Spirits

At approximately 800 pages, this book is a commitment, but it is one well worth making. Complex characters, rich language, and intrigue make it a story to be savored. [See Prepub Alert, 3/28/18.]
PREMIUM

The Drama Teacher

A death, an investigation, and the past catching up to the present makes this a fast-paced, perfect poolside read. The seemingly straightforward narrative takes surprising, unexpected turns. The characters come to life and Gracie elicits sympathy, understanding, and horror in equal measures. For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. [See Prepub Alert, 2/19/18.]
PREMIUM

Mother of Invention

Complicated relationships, imperfect technology, and a semidystopian backstory make this an intriguing read. For fans of Dave Eggers's The Circle and the novels of Max Barry.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month